7. Redoak Organic Hefeweizen

Posted: May 13, 2009 in Australian ales, ill-conceived label
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Redoak Hefeweizen - bottleRedoak Organic Hefeweizen

Australian flag - small

Company info:
Redoak
SYDNEY, N.S.W
www.redoak.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Non-twist

Label info:
‘Hefeweizen is Bavarian for cloudy wheat beer. Redoak’s Organic Hefeweizen is brewed using certified organic malts, direct from the farmer, malted to Redoak’s specifications, and organic hops with a classic weihenstephan yeast that gives it a distinctive flavour profile with hints of banana and cloves and a refreshing finish’.

What the label really means:
Ouch! 42 words in the second sentence! They lost me at ‘weihenstephan’ – whatever that is. In my opinion, all the marketing boffins needed to say to get the same point across is: ‘We pride ourselves on this being a great tasting, organic beer with a definite Bavarian influence. After all, Hefeweizen is Bavarian for cloudy wheat beer.’ Much simpler to understand, guys.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Gee I don’t know about this label…..reds and pinks with dashes of gold and yellow? Hmmm…the colours turn me off straight away. It’s very unimaginative, breaking all design principles. When I think of a red oak, I think of a massive, strong, stand up in a hurricane, tree that’s been around for 300 years. I would have liked to have seen some of this imagery incorporated into this disappointing label. Perhaps the imagery could replace their prominently displayed announcement ‘Australia’s most awarded brewery 2005-2007’.

I give it a label rating of 4.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A light blend of delicious, fruity hops dance amidst a cacophony of eagerly released bubbles of goodness. Can’t wait to try this.

Taste: GLASS – This is a good tasting beer – the first thing I notice is its citrus nature. Almost sour as a result of the over-zesty nature, it took a little getting used to. It’s a bit like another Bavarian favourite, Hoegaarden, however this Hefeweizen isn’t as flavour intense and if given the chance, I would choose this over Hoegaarden.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Surprisingly, I found this beer a lot better to drink from the bottle. It makes the citrus less intense and you really taste those organic hops shouting for sweet mercy.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

A word from the wife: ‘A strong, robust, fruitiness…don’t know if I could have more than one’.

She gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Redoak Hefeweizen - glass

Accompanying food: I would love to sit back with a big ol plate of Mexican and drink plenty of this beer. The full flavours and spice of Mexican would be nicely complimented with this side of the plate lemon slice.

Best season to appreciate: This is definitely a Summer thirst quencher. Drink after ploughing the fields, or thatching your roof. A big welcome to our Amish community.

Time taken to finish bottle: 5 minutes. Very easy to drink.

All-nighter beer? Yes, I think so, particularly on a warm summer’s evening

NEXT WEEK: Bighead (Australia’s first no carb beer, and our first QLD beer)

Comments
  1. Gordon says:

    Well I can’t recall having this at the Redoak Cafe but I do recall that virtually everything I sampled there was of great quailty.
    I like a bit of wheat beer so I might search this out for a sample, heaven knows if it is organic I might be actually doing my body a favour!!

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Stopped past my local Dan Murphy’s and they were out of this one. Got a Redoak Pale Ale instead and am about to sample that. Don’t really mind – I find wheat beers have a bit of a ‘soapy’ taste anyway. That said, the superb Hoegarden Grand Cru has a fair bit of wheat in it and that’s quite magnificent. Squires Golden Ale also contains wheat and is more than half decent, particularly if you can get it on tap.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Further to previous, found a bottle of the Redoak Hefeweizen yesterday and sampled it last night. I’m not much of a wheat beer fan and probably won’t be going back to it. The hint of clove flavour was very pleasant though and if you like wheat beers it’s probably one of the better ones.

      Like

  3. Ben says:

    I have been looking forward to seeing the back of your head

    Like

Leave a Reply

