10. Murray Honey Wheat

Posted: June 3, 2009 in Australian ales, ill-conceived label
Tags: , , , , , ,

Murray Honey Wheat - BOTTLEMurray Honey Wheat
Australian flag - small

 

(NB: This beer is not associated with the previously reviewed beer Murray’s Sassy Blonde)

Company info:
Mildura Brewery
MILDURA, VIC

www.mildurabrewery.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%

Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Label info:

‘This wheat beer has a lovely fruity bouquet with hints of ripe tropical fruit. It contains Mildura’s finest honey, giving it a smoothness that makes this beer very appealing’.

What the label really means: 

Fair call…
 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Very unimpressive. I have had this beer in my fridge for over a month and it’s sat there staring at me simply because the banner across the middle looks like it has come direct from Word’s clipart file. If it weren’t for that banner, I probably would like the simple design. The bee is almost tough looking too. Such a shame Mildura Brewery that you couldn’t pay your designers to work 15 minutes overtime.

I give it a label rating of 5.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A distinct honey and wheat aroma that is extremely pleasant.

Taste: GLASS – This is incredibly better than other honey-based beers I have tasted (such as Beez Neez). It’s a little sweeter, but the sweetness doesn’t detract from the wheat beer flavour. It’s really quite full-bodied and I love it. The fact I can taste the beer is really quite nice….almost feels like I should be having this to ward off a cold or severe case of leprosy (please consult with your physician before taking dietary advice from this blog).

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Murray Honey Wheat - GLASS

 

Taste: BOTTLE – Loses heaps of flavour without the aromatic hops circling the nose and tongue. I’m a little disappointed on this swig…

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6 out of 10.

A word from the wife: ‘Sweet…sweet and delicous. If it came in a syrup I’d drizzle it on pancakes’.

She gave it a taste rating of 8.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I reckon fresh seafood would be the perfect accompaniment – prawns…seared octopus…oh yeah…

Best season to appreciate: Given the fresh fruity flavours of this fine drop, I’d suggest the warmer months would be best to appreciate this. It’d be a nice thirst quencher.

Time taken to finish bottle: 5 minutes – very easy.

All-nighter beer? Definitely! And to accompany my all night Murray Honey Wheat session I’d sit back and watch the ‘Creep Show’ films back to back. What a night.

NEXT WEEK: Tui East India Pale Ale (our first beer from across the ditch, New Zealand)

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    This is the best wheat beer I’ve ever had. It’s like a Mexican beer with honey. Very nice.

    Like

  2. Scott leslie says:

    Brilliant! I’m humbled by your creative genius!

    Like

  3. Scott Leslie says:

    Can I just ask why you feel the need to look away from the camera for the photos of the beer? If you don’t want to be in the shot, just plonk the bottle on a bench and take the pick! Otherwise I’d much rather see your face than the back of your head! Having said all that, I love the reviews Mas! Scott

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Welcome aboard, Scott!
      If you look at each of the photos, they are sequential….soon my head will be back to facing the camera. The idea is that you can put all the photos in a flick book and you can watch my head do a full 360! Dig?

      Like

Leave a Reply

