11. Tui

Posted: June 10, 2009 in International beer
Tags: , , , , ,

Tui - bottleTui
New Zealand flag - SMALL 

Company info:
Tui Brewery
Mangatainoka, NEW ZEALAND
[No website listed on label]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4%
Standard drinks: 1

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.00 

Label info:
All the info written on this bottle is: ‘The daily loading of the Tui carthorses would take upwards of four hours. Once complete, staff were unsure of what to do next’.

What the label really means:
I love it. It’s clearly a beer that doesn’t take itself too seriously, and instead of rabbitting on about Belgian hops or parfume de cinnamon, they have a bit of fun with the label.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Intro: I first tried this beer during a brief stint in New Zealand, in 2002. At the time, I was handed a long neck of Tui and watched as everyone around me threw it back with great speed. I joined in the revelry and had a couple…from that night, I really can’t remember how it tasted (or where I lost my shoe) so I thought I’d revisit it.

Label: This label is very simple in colour – an orangey red, yellow, black and white. Above the ‘Tui’ lettering is a small drawing of a bird taking a sneaky look off to the side. This bird, I have discovered, is actually the Tui bird, a relative of the honey eater family. The beer has been named after the bird. Upon closer inspection of the bird, I note that there is what appears to be a scrotum hanging from the bird’s neck. Hilarious as it is, to see a scrotum on a bird, or to even mention the word scrotum so many times on this blog, I am just thankful the bird wasn’t originally named The Scrotum Necked Honey Eater because then naming the beer after the bird would have been embarrassing down the line: “Hey Dave, pass us another ‘Scrotum Neck’ will ya?”. Never before have I seen a bird with a scrotum on its neck. Never before have I seen a scrotum on a beer label. The laugh alone increased the label rating for this beer. Scrotum. 

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: This beer has a great chocolaty aroma. Really looking forward to this one.

Taste: GLASS – I really do like this taste. You can taste the chocolate, malty flavour with a mild ale essence. It’s like a mild tasting Toohey’s Old. My only complaint is that it is a little too mild. I expected so much more, perhaps more of a stout taste, but I don’t think they set out to make a stout. Just like a midget with a broken arm, the colour and aroma threw me a little.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – For me, this tastes a little better from the bottle. I still get that chocolate flavour, it goes back very easy, and I don’t get that watery taste I got from the glass. I am really enjoying this.

Tui - glass

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: ‘Confusing…I don’t know if it’s nice or it tastes like a burnt tyre…although, it does have a pleasant after taste’.

She gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I reckon something sweet to compliment the chocolate tastes. Maybe pancakes or a chocolate soufflé.

Best season to appreciate: Ya know, I am tending to state that this is one for the cooler months because of that dark, stout, influence. This, in front of an open-fire, or while hitching a ride through the Yukutan would be superb.

Time taken to finish bottle: 4 minutes. Super easy to drink.

All-nighter beer? Oh yeah! Now I understand why my colleagues drank it from long necks, it’s one for the long haul.

NEXT WEEK: Wicked Elf Pale Ale (another by request beer)

Comments
  1. Andy says:

    Did drinking Tui again help you remember what happened to your shoe?

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Just tried one. Not as bad as I recall it being from last time I sampled one, but normally a beer called an “India Pale Ale” would be a lot hoppier than this. Basically, this would be a better effort if it tasted exactly the same but was marketed as a “New Zealand Pale Ale” rather than trying to sound more exotic than it is. If you want a good example of an Indian Pale Ale, try the James Squires IPA. Remember, this style of beer was made to survive the trip from England to India – it needed high alpha-acid hops and high alcohol content to last the trip without spoiling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

