Wicked Elf Pale Ale - bottleWicked Elf Pale Ale
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
The Little Brewing Company
PORT MACQUARIE, N.S.W

www.thelittlebrewingcompany.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.4%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99 

Label info: ‘Craft brewed in the American style using Australian and English malted barley and American Cascade hops.

A refreshing ale with a prominent citrus hop note, balanced towards hop flavour and bitterness’.

What the label really means:

Labels with descriptions talking about the style of hops appeal to, I think, about 5% of prospective drinkers. I am a little confused by what they hope to achieve with this description and would suggest they stick to the second paragraph as being a sufficient marketing speel.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I really like this label. The Wicked Elf character they use looks mischievous and fun, and reminds me a little of the Green Goblin from the Spiderman franchise – this alone gets extra points from me. I do wish however that the elf was larger. I want to see more of the little sucker – perhaps attacking a unicorn or other mythical beast.
I like the fact they have stuck to minimal colours and used an old-style script to make it look like it has been around for decades.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: My kind of Pale Ale. In fact, if I were to be blindfolded and smell this, I would say it was Wicked Elf Pale Ale (having already read the label prior to the blindfold being added). But, had I not known the beer put before me and asked to identify it, I would swear it was Little Creature’s Pale Ale, which to me has a very distinctive smell. I am in for a treat with this beer.

Taste: GLASS – Totally unlike Little Creatures Pale Ale. This is a pale ale with a distinct toasty, malty flavour. It has a great bitter bite with a soft aftertaste that keeps drawing me back to the glass. It’s similar in taste to amber ales such as that produced by James Squires. I am impressed.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, it just doesn’t work as well. I get the full brunt of the bitterness, without a nice aftertaste, and no tantalising aroma to soften the blow. This is one for the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Wicked Elf Pale Ale - glass

A word from the wife: Amidst a crowd-rousing burp she remarked, ‘It’s nice…but it’s probably too heavy for me to drink too many’.

She gave it a taste rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I believe a nice roast lamb with plenty of roasted vegetables. It just needs a good, hearty, winter meal to set it off even more than it does itself.

Best season to appreciate: Because of the dark aspect, and malty flavours of this beers I am tending to suggest this as a cooler months beer. 

Time taken to finish bottle: 5 minutes – I wanted to make this one last but it just went back all too quick.

All-nighter beer? I do feel I could drink it all night, however I have a sneaking suspicion that I’ll wake up a little worse for wear (and possibly minus an eyebrow. Or a tonsil). This will have TBC.

NEXT WEEK: Red Angus Pilsener

Comments
  1. […] are all remarkably similar. So, I’ll re-post my label review from the previously reviewed Wicked Elf Pale Ale, minus half a point for lack of originality: ‘I really like this label. The Wicked Elf […]

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Looks like you’ve had more than four, Sniv!

    Like

  3. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Fantastic, fast-acting, fuller-than-full-strength beer. The only negative is that once you’ve had a few, and reaching into the dark abyss of a fridge during a snap blackout to grab another one, they feel exactly the same as a bottle of Kecap Manis Sweet Soy Sauce. I’d just commenced skolling what I thought was my fourth one when I made that discovery. Nine out of ten.

    Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    I really like this beer and enjoy it regularly. I must be one of the 5%, because I’m always interested to know as much about the hops in my beer as possible. Probably because I like hoppy beers on the one hand, and also because I’m keen to understand different hop flavours for home brewing purposes. Cascade hops are aromatic and fruity, and not as bitter as some but still pleasantly bitter, and if you read beer labels and see Cascade hops referred to, then it will most likely be an American Pale Ale style you’re looking at.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Please keep in mind BargeDave that 38% of all statistics listed on this website are completely made up. 12% are on the ball, and 187% are just ridiculous.

      Like

Leave a Reply

