Red Angus Pilsener - bottleRed Angus Pilsener
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
William Bull Brewing Company
BILBUL, N.S.W

www.williambull.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 345 mL

Alcohol: 4.8%

Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.90

Label info: ‘Red Angus is a pure grain fed Pilsener bred from the best materials the world has to offer. Wrestle the lid off and discover the benefits of 5 malted grains giving a unique and full flavoured profile. No less than 3 classic hops are used, giving a wild profusion of spicy and fruity aromas. A long slow fermentation brings these characters together for a classy and intriguing Pilsener. Enjoy!’

What the label really means:
I like the humour of this beer, proclaiming itself to be a ‘Pure Grain Fed Beer’. We’re told that the beer is jam packed full of flavour with an impressive amount of hops and grains.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I really appreciate this label. For starters the main label is a weird shape (almost bull like), has a tough outline of an angus cow’s head, and is really neatly designed. It’s a label that stands out, and combined with the long necked bottle, is a definite winner.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: An intriguingly delicious hoppy smell wafts up from the glass. 

Taste: GLASS – A strong bitterness prevails through a rising wheat flavour. I really enjoy this, and surprisingly, I enjoy the bitter after taste best.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I took a good ol swig of this and found it had a really nice taste, comparable in drinking it from a glass. I felt nothing is missed and it’s still a great drop.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Mmm…there’s a subtlety of honey that makes it quite smooth, with a crisp after taste….I like it”

Red Angus Pilsener - glass

She gave it a taste rating of 8 out of 10.
 
Accompanying food: I’d like to suggest this accompanies something with pastry. Perhaps a steak and kidney pie, or cheese and spinach triangles.

Best season to appreciate: I suggest this is a predominantly cooler weather beer. It would go back just swell in front of an open wood fire.

Time taken to finish bottle: 4 minutes – a very easy to drink beer.

All-nighter beer? Yes I think so. I can’t imagine myself getting sick of it.

NEXT WEEK: Chopper Heavy

Comments
  1. […] NB: This is my second reviewed beer from the William Bull Brewing Company. My first was their other fine drop, Red Angus Pilsener. […]

    Like

  2. Ben0 says:

    Mas – I had three of these beauties at the last TGIF drinks. By the third however I was looking for something else…so I can’t agree on the ‘all nighter’ comment. Unfortunately by that stage of the night ‘something else’ was limited to the dregs (i.e a Carlton Cold or light…) so I decided to call it a night.

    Like

  3. Sniv Whettuce says:

    I’ve met alot of beers in my slurping career but Red

    Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    I’ve tried it but not lately, as I recall it was quite a good pilsener. Just to be pedantic (yet again), I see you’ve categorised this as an ‘Australian ale’ when in fact Pilseners and Lagers are not in the ale category. Pilseners and their close relatives lagers are brewed using different techniques to ales (which also include stouts), and using different different yeast. There are, as I recall, five different families of beer: ales (includes stouts), pilseners (includes lagers), krieks, lambics and one other I can’t remember. Krieks, lambics and the other one are extremely obscure.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Thanks for the pick-up BargeDave.
      Normally I’d say this is a result of my ill-informed reviewing but I put this error down to laziness. I didn’t have another category defined at the time of posting.

      Now to find myself a kriek or lambic of which you speak!

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        They’re both ancient beer styles which date back many centuries, to a time before the cultivation of beer yeast (they use wild yeast, or in other words, the beer maker leaves the beer out in the open air to suck in whatever yeast cells are flying past) or the use of hops in beer. Belgium is, to the best of my knowledge, the only place they’re still made. Some krieks are available in Australia (I’ve tried a cherry-flavoured one and won’t be going back) but I’ve never seen a lambic.

        Like

Leave a Reply

