Chopper Heavy - bottleChopper Heavy
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
Steel River Brewery
MAYFIELD, N.S.W

www.chopperheavy.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.5%

Standard drinks: 1.45

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.99

Label info: The most confusing/disturbing label info I have had to report on: ‘Nailed to a cross, his end was very near, he called to the Roman for one last drink, and smiled when he got a beer’.

What the label really means: This is probably an attempt by the brewery to be funny by either (a) comparing Chopper to Christ, or (b) making out Christ was handed a beer after crucifixion. Either way it loses me due to simply not being funny or relevant.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’ve mentioned many times before that I appreciate a tough label on a beer. Unfortunately this beer is like a heavy metal fan dressed in knee high, steel clad boots, and long greasy head-banging hair at a kindergarten. The stealy eyed Chopper (Mark “Chopper” Reed) peering out on the label is kind of lame, and I can only think of Eric Banner’s impersonation and not a supposed Australian gangster. There is a kind of light-glow behind his head, as if to give him biblical importance but ergh! 

I give it a label rating of 3 out of 10. 

AROMA: It’s a very faint smell with a slight malty waft. The subtlety of this, combined with the pale colour is already making me think this won’t be a very tasty beer.

Taste: GLASS – It’s actually not as bad as I thought it would be. It has an amber ale taste which is confusing given the colour. It’s fuller-bodied than I expected also, and is distinctly a lager.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – This isn’t too bad from the bottle. I kept going back for more of it and feel that it’s one of those beers that should be consumed from the bottle in large quantities. Not too bad at all.

Chopper Heavy - glass

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Doesn’t taste too heavy…pleasant and easy to drink – especially for a lager”

She gave it a taste rating of 7.5 out of 10. 
Accompanying food: I am thinking a nice, creamy pasta dish would accompany this beer well. Probably not something Chopper would agree with

 but stuff him!

Best season to appreciate: Due to the malty flavours persistent through this beer I would suggest this to be consumed during cooler months.

Time taken to finish bottle: 5 minutes.

All-nighter beer? There is no particularly overpowering flavour and I think it has been designed purposefully as an all-nighter beer so I will say yes.

NEXT WEEK: Cascade Green (by request)

Comments
  1. Orveus Pigge says:

    I drank four Choppers whilst watching the St.Kilda-Geelong game with mates yesterday and it gave me the worst flatulence I’ve ever had. I was a farting machine. I cleared the room on no less than nine occasions. It’s my new favourite beer. I give it a nine – a point for each evacuation.

    Like

  2. Leanne Clarke says:

    Yummy, yummy … went straight down to Dan Murphy’s to purchase some after reading this review … excellent advice cous, Darren was very pleased with his good little wife who’d been out working all day and then showed with take-away & a six pack of Chopper Heavy. Would definately purchase again …

    Rating, probably a 8.5 out of 10 from the good hubby, maybe even 8.75 out of 10, he describes it as ‘bloody good’ …

    Oh & we thought the text on the back of the label was funny !!! so would probably give the label a higher rating that you … always good to find something that makes you laugh …

    Like

  3. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Not since Yürhein Lager have I met a more appropriately named beer than
    Chopper Heavy. Just like its namesake it’s got a big nose, a full body
    and no ears. Nine out of ten.

    Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    Don’t you mean Heath Franklin/Ronnie Johns’ impersonation? Eric Bana played Chopper straight (well, as straight as it can be played) in the quite good movie of the same name.

    It’s a gimmick beer but it’s certainly a legitimate lager, which is more than can be said for many Australian so-called lagers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

