15. Cascade Green

Posted: July 8, 2009 in Australian lager
Tags: , , , , ,

Cascade Green - BottleCascade Green 
Australian flag - small 

Company info:
Cascade Brewery
SOUTH HOBART, T.A.S

www.cascadebrewery.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.50

Label info: ‘Cascade Green is a full flavoured, refreshing beer that is low in carbs and contains nothing artificial. It’s a crisp all-malt lager with aromatic undertones that deliver the superior taste Cascade is renowned for’.

What the label really means: A fine example of a straight to the point description.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Not only is this beer low in carbs (important for some people I guess) but it’s label proclaims “Cascade Green is 100% carbon offset and accredited by the Australian Government’s Greenhouse Friendly program”. So the fact that the label is a very simple, two colour design is in sticking with this green friendly marketing. I actually don’t mind this label.
What I do mind, is the stupid neck label that Cascade has used. A huge barcode sticks out like a sore thumb in a spot that is often a focal point. To me, the neck label cheapens the look Cascade are going for and I would have much preferred if this was replaced with a back label. It is the neck label that brings their label rating down 3 points.

I give it a label rating of 3.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A great, hoppy aroma, bursting with freshness leaps from the glass. I know it sounds like I’ve ingested some form of meth-amphetamine here but smell it yourself and you’ll see my description makes sense.

Taste: GLASS -At first sip I am hit with an unexpected fruitiness. This is followed by a deliciously bitter after-taste. I am really loving this hippy infused concoction.

I give it a beer from glass rating of out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Another surprise, but as I found with all the lagers I have reviewed thus far, they taste just as good if not better when sampled from the bottle. With Cascade Green, I am enjoying the taste even more from the bottle. It’s similar to regular Cascade but different….it’s like I can taste the carbon disappearing from the atmosphere with every sip. Excellent! 

Cascade Green - glass

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Pleasantly light and crisp – thoroughly enjoyable”

She gave it a taste rating of 8 out of 10. 

Accompanying food: I reckon something lightly deep fried such as salt and pepper calamari, with a leafy green salad to accompany. Damn this hippy potion is rubbing off on me! What next? Reviewing herbal tea?

Best season to appreciate: I suggest this is another Summer thirst quencher. It’s so light and refreshing.

All-nighter beer? As I’ve mentioned before, I am not one to select beer based on its lack of carbs. If you are someone that cares about their weight, or if you are after a non-bloaty beer then this is the beer for you. I could easily drink this all night and I think most people would agree.

Other information: You really should check out Cascade Green’s official website (www.cascadegreen.com.au). I think it is excellent with plenty to read. 

NEXT WEEK: TBC (let me know your suggestions via the Facebook group ‘Mason Hell-Cat’s Beer Blog’)

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    This beer is a frisky little plaything isn’t it? If you rolled over, it would probably tickle your tummy. Well, it would if it had arms. Which it doesn’t.

    Like

  2. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Attractive, polite, well-mannered beer. The sort of beer you could take home to meet your mum. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      I wouldn’t take an environmentally friendly product home to meet my mum, Sniv, she’s a bit anti. I think it’s because she’s a Tasmanian lumberjack.

      Like

      • Sniv Whettuce says:

        I once dated a Lumberjill. Her favourite drink was wood liquor. She used to buy it in twenty litre containers from the paint section at Bunnings.

        Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Definitely one of the better low-carb beers on the market, in that it’s full-flavoured and quite clean. I rate it just behind the Bighead no-carb beer you reviewed a while back.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      BargeDave – quick off the mark as per usual. Great to see!

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Always look forward to Wednesday mornings Mase. BTW, I can’t work out how to get into the facebook group. My suggestion for a beer review next week is Coopers Vintage, but failing that any grand ale style or a stout. Something big.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Ahh yes! I’ve been meaning to do the Coopers Vintage for a while! Will track it down.

        Maybe I’ve made the Facebook group too exclusive! I’ll go adjust!

        Like

      • Sniv Whettuce says:

        Do you have a price limit on the beers you review, Mase? If not I propose Jacobsen Vintage No.1. I saw one at my local Murphetts last week and I’ve been looking for an excuse to steal it.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        I don’t suppose I have a price limit…but I’d surely make comment if the price was excessive.

        Like

Leave a Reply

