16. Cuba ’59 Extra Dry

Posted: July 15, 2009 in Australian lager, traditional looking label
Tags: , , , , , ,

Cuba 59 - BottleCuba ’59 Extra Dry
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
Independent Breweries
LAVERTON, V.I.C

[NO WEBSITE LISTED]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.50

Label info: ‘The essence of Cuba ’59 is inspired by the events of the 1959 revolution and the people’s joie de vivre.

It’s clean, crisp and extra dry taste will bring out your ‘Revolutionary Joy of Life’’.

What the label really means: I like the fact they have attempted to create a legend here. A beer that has been consumed in Cuba for 50+ years. Drink this and you too will want to stand up for your rights and stop working for ‘the man’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I knew when buying this beer that it wasn’t from Cuba (as it says on the label: ‘Product of Ausrtalia. Inspired by Cuba’). I knew that I don’t normally like dry or extra dry labelled beers. I also knew I was being a sap to marketing schmucks as it was the label and the mythology that attracted me to sampling it.

I gotta say, for a beer label this is really up there with the best. It has a real art deco feel to it, and certainly looks like it is a beer that did its formative years during the late 1950’s. I like the traditional looking beer cap, and neck label with Cuban script all round it. I like the little postage stamp picture of a man in a panama hat down the bottom. They easily could have extended the concept a little further by having raised fists on the label, but I actually like the understated-ness of this. It’s the sort of beer I’d be proud to hold as I stomp the face of authority into submission.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: This beer has a pleasant musk-like aroma with a real hint of fun.

Taste: GLASS -I like this beer but I feel that it’s really missing something. It’s trying to find its feet like a newly born gazelle but falls short. It’s a bit like a Peroni but even then doesn’t quite get there. I am a little disappointed with this as I had really wanted to like it.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – It’s actually a little better from the bottle. It was smoother, and the carbonation was less noticeable.

Cuba 59 - Glass

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “So fizzy…the bubbles got sucked all through the mouth. Delightful”

She gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This would go well with a great pizza – plenty of olives, spicy meats, and a tasty cheese.

Best season to appreciate: A beer for the warmer months.

All-nighter beer? Well, I’m not so sure about this one. I think I could have 5 or 6 and then be ready to move onto something a bit less dry. I don’t know that I will be going back to this. 

Other information: As listed, this beer is produced by Independent Breweries (Aust). As I have discovered, this is a company that can mass produce any beer and beer label you suggest, and then help you sell it. I like the concept. Anyone for a Mason Hell-Cat branded ‘Death Row Ale’?

NEXT WEEK: Coopers Vintage (a long overdue by request beer)

Comments
  1. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Good, ordinary beer. It’d go well with a Taiwanese cigar and an episode of Dance Your Ass Off. Nine out of ten.

    Not only was this my sixth post for the financial year it’s also the last post I will ever make. I’ve decided to take The Pledge. From now on ginger ale and the occasional snufter of sniffing alcohol will be my only vices. Hooroo!

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Sniv, say it ain’t so! Who will I drink with when I’m hospitalised and waiting for a liver transplant? I always figured it would be the two of us, having contraband booze snuck in for us by corrupt hospital porters. Oh, the loneliness which awaits me.

      Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Sniv? Don’t tell me the folk from ‘Dry July’ have finally gotten to you. The beer-community is sorry for our loss.

      Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Mason, I’d certainly purchase a slab of death row ale!

    Agree with this review. Once again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

