18. Quilmes

Posted: July 29, 2009 in International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , , , ,

Quilmes - bottleQuilmes
Argentina flag

 

Company info:
Cerverceria Y Malteria Quilmes
ARGENTINA

www.quilmes.com.ar

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.20

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A
Further info: Quilmes (pronounced ‘kill-mess’ – I have this on reliable authority) originates from the town of its namesake, in the Buenos Aires Province. I have acquired the imported version of Quilmes for the purposes of this review.

 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label, which purports Quilmes to be ‘Argentina’s favorite beer’ (can someone confirm if this really is the case, or is it Argentina’s favourite beer in the same way Fosters is Australia’s favourite beer – ie, only in the eyes of deceptive, clutching-at-straws marketers), is based on the Argentinian flag by using two bands of blue, with a white band through the middle. While it succeeds in being immediately recognised as a distinctively Argentinian beer it fails in being an attractive beer label. To me, it looks like more like a label for mouth wash. The one aspect I do appreciate is the fancy script spelling out the word Quilmes – look at the swirls on that Q! On the plus side, I am glad there is no likeness of ol Che included.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A soft, fruity aroma that has me very intrigued yet cautious – I am immediately worried it will be too fruity.

Taste: GLASS -It’s a beer that on first sip hits out as being very citrusy, crisp and tasty. However, it didn’t seem to maintain that taste too long in my mouth. It’s a watery sort of beer, and noticeably over-carbonated. Being a lager I should have expected this but still found it a little disconcerting. Ok, but I was hoping for more.

Quilmes - glass

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Much the same as supped from the glass. Here the carbonation is even more noticeable and for that reason I found myself returning to the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Light, crispy, delicate, citrusy and nyummy”

She gave it a taste rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Given that this is clearly a Summer beer, let your imagination run wild with images of barbeques, picnics, and unicorns on acid. 

Best season to appreciate: A perfect summer accompaniment.

All-nighter beer? The fact that this beer is so light in taste means it could quite easily be an all-nighter. However, the carbonation may be an issue and I have a feeling I’d be pretty bloated after around 6 or 7.

NEXT WEEK: Feral White

Comments
  1. luke says:

    This is only one of 2 Argentinian beers that I have tried, the other one being the shitty Fosters-like Cristal (not to be confused with the Peruvian Cristal, which is much better, even though they broke a chunk off Macchu Picchu when filming a commercial there). I offended some Argentinians on the plane because they overheard me tasting Cristal and declaring “It’s shit”.

    This beer is everywhere in Buenos Aires, so perhaps they can rightfully lay claim to ‘Argentina’s favorite beer’.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Tried one today with lunch. Clean lager flavour, hints of citrus but very bubbly, exactly as the review suggested it would be. Innoffensive but a bit boring.

    Like

  3. Sniv Whettuce says:

    When I’m in competition I wear a pair of green-lensed glasses to counteract the dyslexic effects of intoxication. With sixteen beers under my belt I wouldn’t be able to tell up from down otherwise.

    Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    Glasses (of the wearing kind, not just the drinking kind) I see this week, Mase. I’ll try and pick one of these Argentinians up today. I used to work with an Argentinian, she was great but she scared a lot of people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

