Feral White - BOTTLEFeral White

Australia flag - SMALL

 

 

Company info:
Feral Brewing Company
SWAN VALLEY, W.A

www.feralbrewing.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.50

Label info: ‘Our White Beer is handcrafted in true Belgian style with 50% Barley, 50% Wheat and an authentic Belgian yeast strain. Coriander and orange peel are added during the boil to contribute a spicy citrus flavour’.

What the label really means: ‘We’ve done our best to create a fine Belgian beer. We’ve also chucked in a few spices and fruits to spruce it up a little’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The word ‘WHITE’ stands out in white lettering, with great effect. Above this is a small banner proclaiming it to be from the ‘Feral’ family. I like the simple but effective use of colours (red, white and blue), and a small image of some wheat. On the neck label there is a cartoon picture of a razorback pig, and the words ‘Feral Brewing Company’. I like the pig, but I am glad it is restricted to the neck, and not the main label – any bigger and the beer is in serious threat of turning into bogan-juice.
The more I look at this label, the more I enjoy it. The red, white, and blue feel like they have been taken directly from the chest of a superhero and damn I applaud that. 

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: Great! I get a fruity, musk, wheat aroma wafting up from the glass. Very tantalising.

Taste: GLASS -This is a super-smooth wheat beer that slides back with ease. I find it very pleasing, and tastier than other wheat beers on the market. Swallow the beer, let the aftertaste course through your teeth and you’ll get hit with a delicious citrus undertone.

Feral White - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I get an even better hit of the citrus, fruity flavours from the bottle. But far from being overwhelming, the flavours compliment the wheaty brew beautifully. Dammitt, this is how I like my Feral White.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Rather sweet, caramello tasting, and smooth to drink. It grows on me”

She gave it a taste rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I can’t explain it but I get a real hankering for a hot dog with tomato sauce, and American mustard while sipping back on this. It feels like a beer destined for outdoor festivals and Summer sports.

Best season to appreciate: An outdoor Summer beer guaranteed to put you in that sunshine loving state of mind.

All-nighter beer? For sure! I am so impressed with this beer I will be buying a case ASAP.

NEXT WEEK: Gösser

Comments
  1. […] to what I’ve said earlier on Feral’s labels, the hog on this one works a treat. Here is a ferocious razor back screaming out of the label like […]

    Like

  2. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Umlaut! Umlaut! Umlaut! I just noticed that next week’s beer is Gösser. I love a beer with an umlaut. Umlaut! Umlaut! Umlaut!

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    I tried one last night. As with most wheat beers, I find it has a ‘soapy’ taste but that’s my experience of wheat beers generally so it’s not a complaint about this beer specifically. Beyond that, I found the citrus flavour and hint of coriander very interesting. The brewers have clearly aimed to make quite a distinctive brew, and they’ve achieved their goal. I’m sure wheat beer fans will be happy with this one, meanwhile I’m going back to my grand ales and stouts.

    Like

  4. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Very hardy beer. I accidentally froze one in the freezer and then accidentally boiled it in the microwave and it still tasted better than Reschs Real Bitter. I like a beer that can take a bit of punishment. Nine out of ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

