24. Hatlifter Stout

Posted: September 9, 2009 in Australian ales, Stout
Tags: , , , , ,

Hatlifter Stout - BOTTLEHatlifter Stout
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
The Grand Ridge Brewing Co.
MIRBOO NORTH, V.I.C

www.grand-ridge.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.60

Label info: ‘Hatlifter Stout is a full flavoured, creamy, Australian style stout vintaged over an extended period of time with delicate chocolate, coffee and deep roasted barley flavours. Easy on the palate and an exceptional cold weather beer, served at cellar temperature’.

What the label really means: No euphemisms or hoity toity marketing talk here, this is a well composed beer description.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: On first glance, the label looks very busy. There is barely any spare space, and it isn’t entirely necessary to include everything that they have. For the front/main label I would think that the idea would be to keep it simple, keep it clean, make it eye-catching. I would move the following text to the back label “100% Premium”, “100% Pure Beer”, “Mirboo North” (it already lists the region as Gippsland below, which for the majority of consumers is sufficient), and one of the “4.9%” listings (two is overkill).

The over-crowdedness aside, I love the Grand Ridge Brewery logo – an Australian Lyre Bird. It’s a proud, unique bird and it makes for a strong logo. I love the big lettering, and name, ‘Hatlifter Stout’, and I like the fact the label has a real metallic sheen to it. Not so convinced of the use of gold, but I’ll let that slide.

I give it a label rating of 6 out of 10.

AROMA: A rich, malty smell with a distinguishably herbal bouquet.

Hatlifter Stout - GLASS

 

Taste: GLASS – Strong and bitter, yet real smooth. It’s not as thick and creamy as some stouts such as Guinness and this is a good thing here. There is a really strong roasted coffee barley taste throughout this brew. It’s not a beer I would drink regularly but I am enjoying this.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I think this beer goes better from the bottle. It seems to present itself even more smoothly and is quite enjoyable. 

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Robust, honey taste. More pleasant than those that taste like burnt tyres”

She gave it a taste rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I suggest this would be a good Winter brew, accompanying rich sauced meals such as stews, lamb shanks, or osso bucco.

Best season to appreciate: It’s definitely a sit by the fire, toe warmer. Winter all the way!

All-nighter beer? Probably not for me as I tend to feel pretty bad the next day after drinking too many dark beers but I am sure the stout lover will drink this quite freely.

NEXT WEEK: Labatt Blue Imported (our first Canadian beer!)

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Got around to trying one over the weekend. It’s a fine stout, with excellent stout characteristics – somewhat bitter and complex malt flavours, nice roast, reasonable alcohol. It’s a genuine Aussie stout. I personally prefer stouts with a bit more alcohol – Coopers Extra Stout being a great example – but this doesn’t disappoint.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    Nice one Hellcat. I’m not familiar with this stout little chappie but after this review I am trying to track him down. For anyone interested, Hatlifter can be bought online here http://www.beerstore.com.au/detail.asp?beerID=61 Not sure about high street stockists. Perhaps you or one of your other readers might be able to shed some light on this?

    Like

    • Ben says:

      Although your sitting next to me at work I am choosing to answer you through this blog…you can purchase Grand Ridge products through the Dan Murphy’s chain.

      Yours in stout

      Like

      • McLean not MacLean says:

        Although you are sitting next to me at work, I am choosing to thank you through this blog: thanks Ben.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Hi boys. I wonder if Grand Ridge beers are available more widely in Victoria? You’d think so eh?
        On a side note McLean, the Australian Hotel (Sydney, NSW) has a couple of the Grand Ridge beers for sale from the fridge.

        Like

  3. Ben says:

    Ahhh Mason. I love my stout and I love the grange ridge brewery (my favourite brewery in oz). I have tried their yarra valley and gippsland golds, and will now be trying the stout before it gets too warm…I love your work my son.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Cheers Ben! I had a sample pack a few years back with a bottle of each of their brews and was really impressed with them. I’m glad to be returning (in taste) to the Gippsland region.

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      The Grand Ridge Yarra Valley Gold and Gippsland Pale are both sensational beers which I drink frequently. Clearly, the brewers at this joint are beermakers with similar tastes to myself. Their Scotch Ale is quite forgettable in my opinion, however.

      Like

Leave a Reply

