28. Sheaf Stout

Posted: October 6, 2009 in Australian ales, Stout, traditional looking label
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sheaf Stout - BOTTLESheaf Stout
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
Foster’s Australia LTD
SOUTHBANK, V.I.C

www.cub.com.au

Bottle size sampled: 375 mL

Alcohol: 5.7%
Standard drinks: 1.7

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.80

Label info: No info listed

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: This is another of the labels that I classify in the ‘hasn’t changed in aaaaages’ category. Unfortunately for Sheaf Stout, aaaaages is classified as 1973. It’s not a bad label, it just lacks creativity. But, on the plus side it has a certain understated charm that leads me on a mystical journey to something resembling ‘Don’s Party’ (Dir: Bruce Beresford, 1976) and for that, I give this label a good dosing of street cred.

 

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A rich aroma that has a strong smell of alcohol. Before reading the alcohol content of this beer I knew I’d be in for a hit of Grandpa’s ol cough medicine.

Taste: GLASS – This is a bitter, rich, (remotely) chocolatey, stouty beer. I can taste the alcohol quite prominently and I am supping every sip with great interest. It’s not a thick beer, and it’s strangely smooth. I don’t know if it’s the fact I am doing this review while cooking a BBQ, or the fresh night air, but I am actually enjoying this.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Sheaf Stout - GLASS

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this sucker from the bottle diminishes the overpowering taste of alcohol and makes it even more enjoyable. Surprisingly, since I always assumed stouts were best consumed from the glass, this is going down well. I get more of a bitter coffee kind of flavour, and I like it.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Makes me shudder! And not in a good way…”

She gave it a taste rating of 3.5 out of 10.

A word from my Dad (visiting reviewer): “Perhaps when I was younger, I thought stouts were heavier….I haven’t had one in ages and would like to taste a Guinness….as a benchmark.”

He gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Since I was cooking a BBQ at the time of review, I could imagine this really complimenting a great plate of sausages, steaks, mushrooms and onions.

Best season to appreciate: Another Winter Warmer for you, dear readers. Just when you thought we were entering Summer, BANG, I hit you with another cold weather beer.

All-nighter beer? Probably not for me thanks…

NEXT WEEK: TBC – suggestions welcome

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    Hellcat, I doff my hat in your general direction! I have just made the pilgrimige to the oft mentioned Dan Murphys! I was like the proverbial under age drinker on the morning of 25 December. All so sweet! All so tempting! All so enticing!

    As I wandered up and down the aisles – my eyes alight with glee – I picked up several of your recommendations along the way (including this week’s Sheaf Stout – I’m bracing myself for that one…). I’m returned home with armfuls of stouts, pilsners, black beers and ales. Enough to keep me going for several weeks if not months.

    Truly, I feel that my journey to become a fair dinkum Aussie is now complete. Who needs citizenship ceremonies? I’ve been to Dan Murphys!

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Hmm, where I live, I’m the only beer-wanker in the village. Round my way, dinkum Aussies boast of their preference for bad Aussie “lagers”, VB or premixed spirit and soft drink cans (remember when they were only for sheilas?). Sadly, getting excited about Cascade hops or Munich malts in beer is an invitation to get beaten up in my little bit of Australia. I think the mark of being Aussie is not how you enjoy your beer, it’s how you chunder it at the end of the night.

      Like

  2. Hellraiser says:

    Hi Hell-Cat,
    Long time reader, first time commenter.
    As a suggestion – how about that extra mature Coopers Vintage? I wanna know if I should pick the scabs off the remainder and neck ’em or if I should cellar for a further 8 years.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Hi Hellraiser, welcome aboard….I have a feeling I know who you are!
      I plan to try the ‘extra mature’ Coopers Vintage and review it on a separate page…wouldn’t quite be fair to all the other un-yet reviewed beers if I devoted a full week to it. Do you agree?

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      As the world’s premier Coopers Vintage fan, I can’t emphasise enough that this baby improves with appropriate cellaring for a good five years. I was given a few five-year-old bottles a couple of years ago and it still brings a tear to my eye to recall how good it was. It’s a great beer anytime (particularly now that Coopers seem to hang on to it longer prior to public release, unlike the earlier vintages which were released too early) but once it’s more than about 4 years old it’s liquid gold.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Ahh but Barge, I am entering uncharted territory here as I attempt to review a bottle of Coopers Vintage bottled on 2 October 1999.

        Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    I’ve not seen this one in South Australia, but I’m always pretty cautious about any product from CUB. I’ll keep my eyes peeled.

    Like

    • Sniv Whettuce says:

      Same hither, Bargé, no sign of the stuff in Greater Melbourne booze-a-toriums either. I was a little pivvled, actually. I was really looking forward to test slurping it and giving it nine out of ten.

      Fortunately, I’m the creative type, Bargé, so I decided to create my own. Two dollops of Healthmite (low-salt yeast extract spread) stirred vigorously into a pot of VB with a fork until a nice head formed later and voila! One Sniv’s instant stout.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you truly are a genius Sniv.

        Like

      • Sniv Whettuce says:

        Thankyou, Bargé, but I fear the accolade is unwarranted. I don’t think I so much invented Sniv’s Instant Stout as I did stumble upon the recipe for Reschs Real Bitter.

        Like

  4. Ben says:

    Mas – I drink this beer a lot in winter for two reasons…1) It is the cheapest stout in the market (and probably tastes like it, however, I have become so accustomed to it that I quite enjoy it. Also I can pick up two long necks at my local for $8) and 2) For its medicinal purposes (I don’t think I have had a cold since I was 22… around the same time I started drinking this stout). A lot can be said for alcohol warding off a cold and this fits the bill perfectly. However, my favouirte stout is the Coopers yellow label….On the subject of Coopers my suggestion for next weeks review is the new Coopers Pilsner I think it’s called “62”

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Love the Coopers Best Extra Stout. Coopers seem to have stopped production of their Vintage Stout, but when you’ve got the Yellow Label you don’t really need to make any other stout. Must say I was disappointed by the 62 though – drink one alongside a James Squire Pilsner and you’ll conclude that the 62 is brewed to a lower quality. My other tip for the Coopers Stout is to mix up an all Coopers black-and-tan – half Yellow Label, half Red Label. Gives you the best of both worlds.

      Like

      • Ben says:

        BargeDave your beer wisdom never fails to impress me. I’m going to try a Coopers red and yellow mix tonight…which if my colour palette serves me correctly will make …an Orange label?

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Genius Ben. I’ll refer to my future black-and-tans as Orange Labels every time. Good stuff.

        Like

    • McLean not MacLean says:

      Benjy
      I’ve stocked up on a six pack of the 62, based on your recommendation. Might hang off sampling for a week or two though. I prefer to try the beers as and when Hellcat reviews them, and you never know if the ’62 will get a run soon. By the way, the bottle is a blatant rip off of Kronenberg 1664. Must be deliberate though on Coopers’ part. Maybe it’s a ‘tribute’ thing?

      Like

Leave a Reply

