Bluebottle - BOTTLEBluebottle
Australian flag - small

 

Company info:
Bluebottle Beer
Pyrmont, N.S.W

[No website listed on bottle]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.3%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.60

Label info: ‘Bluebottle is made for seafood. We designed it this way. A seductive blend of lifted aromatics, light bitterness and a citrus sting to enhance the flavours of the sea. The perfect complement to a seafood dining occasion, in fact the perfect complement to any occasion. Australia’s premier food and brewing experts have made sure of it’

What the label really means: Drink this with seafood, drink this with seafood, go on, try some seafood with it, you really should eat the seafood, slurp it back with some seafood. Seafood, seafood, seafood. Give me a break, we get it! Round of applause for the seafood accompaniment.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Bluebottles are a particularly nasty animal that inhabit the sea and whip hapless swimmers with great ferocity. They can turn a trip to the beach into a trip to a bottle of carefully applied vinegar in next to no time, and I hate them. I can’t think of a single person that would ever lay claim to liking the most hated animal on earth. No good has ever come from bluebottles. Already I am offside with this beer. 
On this label is an outline of a bluebottle beast, with its poision filled tentacles. ‘Bluebottle’ is written in big letters across the label, followed by a rather non-descript ‘beer’. I don’t know what it is but the label seems hoity toity, high-falootin’, and one destined to make this beer served on silver platters on yachts, or behind a trendy city bar with a $12.00 price tag. 
Now for those regular readers that are asking what my problem is (ie, I ask for tough looking beer labels – surely this is one?), I would need to see the bluebottle in action for it to be considered a worthy label. I’d like to see a depiction of the tentacles stretched across the face of a screaming kid, or under the bikini top of a struggling to stay afloat pensioner, not just hanging there as a reminder of our hatred for its species.

I give it a label rating of 4 out of 10.

AROMA: A good wheaty, citrussy smell.

Taste: GLASS – Bluebottle beer is a lager and it’s a really light coloured beer, that pours a good head. Upon first sip I note that it is also light tasting, very fizzy, and very citrussy.

Bluebottle - GLASS

I am not particularly fond of this beer as it is so light in flavour that it’s almost like drinking lemon flavoured fizzy water – it’s a bit like Corona. I’m not that keen. NB: No I am not sampling this beer with seafood but I feel if this is a worthy beer it should stand well on its own. Unfortunately it doesn’t.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Much the same as drinking this from the glass, and again there isn’t much to write home about.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Soft, lingering honey taste…rather pleasant.”

She gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: SEAFOOD! I guess I have to say that….but I’d like to also suggest a hot and spicy pizza also (for taste!). A seafood pizza would also be nice I imagine.

Best season to appreciate: A Summer brew… particularly for all you yachties.

All-nighter beer? It’s easy to go back, so yes it could easily be an all-nighter beer. But, I have a feeling I’d be wanting something with a bit more ‘bite’ ASAP.

Other notes: In tiny writing on the bottle, the following is mentioned ‘Your purchase helps support OceanWatch Australia’. If you know what OceanWatch is (I don’t) and supporting them is something you are keen to do, well…good for you…drink away.

NEXT WEEK: TBC – suggestions welcome

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Couple of suggestions for next week – I’d like to see a good pilsner reviewed. James Squires Pilsner is fantastic, as is Wehienstephaner if you’re going imported. For those who enjoy a cheap buy, I reckon Amsterdam is a particularly dodgy lager which happens to also be a quite drinkable bargain-priced pilsner – it’s more a failure of marketing than brewing. For the uninitiated, pilsners are lagers with bigger malt profiles and more hops, although traditionally they use the same Saaz hops as go into lagers.

    Like

    • McLean not MacLean says:

      I’d echo the big Barge fella’s sediments, oh sorry, I mean ‘sentiments’ (all this beer talk is getting me mixed up). I’m a big fan of a good Pilsner so any recommendations from Hellcat would be welcome.

      Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Tried one at lunchtime, it’s subtle but clean and generally inoffensive without being too interesting. As per the label, it would be good with foods which also have subtle flavours and probably wouldn’t be too hard to drink all night if the circumstances arose. I found it less watery and less Corona-ish than the review suggested it would be, but I won’t become a regular customer as long as more interesting beers are on the shelf.

    Like

  3. H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

    I’ve always thought this (and the Firefly) bottle looked too boring to drink on the shelf. I seem to have been right.

    Dan Murphy’s have the Matilda Bay Dogbolter out as one of their Reserve releases, my uncle raves about it from his old days in Fremantle, maybe you could review that if you can find it?

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Welcome aboard, H.A. Chamberlain Esq!
      Will definitely keep my eyes out for the Dogbolter. The name alone has ensured my interest has been sparked.

      Like

  4. Sniv Whettuce says:

    I followed the label’s advice and drank a couple of Bluebottles with two dozen fried seafood sticks for breakfast this morning and I’ve felt crook ever since. I think the Bluebottles may have been off. Still, at least I’m not in a wheelchair with no feeling in my ears which was my fate after drinking a pot of Reschs Real Bitter on Christmas Day last year.

    Nine out of ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

