Estrella Damm - BOTTLEEstrella Damm

Spanish flag - SMALL

 

 

Company info:
S.A Damm
Barcelona, SPAIN

[www.estrelladamm.es]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.50

Label info: ‘La Cerveza de Barcelona. Estrella Damm, the premium quality beer brewed in Barcelona since 1876. Today it remains at the heart of city life. Enjoy the taste of Barcelona.’

What the label really means: Great label description.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label for Estrella Damm, with it’s bold gold star reeks of revolution. It reeks of liberation. It reeks of freedom. It also reeks of tradition, quality, and a beer not to be messed with. The label is tough, staunch, unblinking in the face of a pudgy, angry dictator with a penchant for tight trousers. It stares down authority and gives the finger to establishment. Let the Estrella Damm revolution begin.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: There’s a soft, citrus and wheaty aroma. It’s giving me psychadelic flashbacks of the previously reviewed ‘Bluebottle beer’.

Taste: GLASS – Estrella Damm is a pilsener, and as such is really quite pale in colour. Based on this appearance, and the soft aroma I expected a mellow, light flavoured, watery beer. But, this is a lager that packs a strong bitter punch. I am really enjoying this.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Estrella Damm - GLASS

Taste: BOTTLE – Although I would not have found it necessary, drinking from the bottle seems to mellow this beer out. It tastes less feisty with the bitterness smoothing out in intensity.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Not too heavy…not too light…it’s just right…but perhaps a bit watery”

She gave it a taste rating of 6 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Bring me a Spanish plated fiesta of baby octopus, squid, olives, eggplant, and chorizo all drizzling in olive oil.

Best season to appreciate: This would be an ideal Summer thirst quencher, best consumed prior to siesta.

All-nighter beer? Yes, I think so! 

NEXT WEEK: Birra Moretti

Comments
  1. […] like the previously reviewed Estrella Damm I love this label. A single gold star shines out from a matte black label. It’s simple and […]

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Drinking one now. It’s a lager and I question how Mase described it as a pilsener, which it most certainly is not. Like all decent lagers it’s clean, easy to drink and basically the same as every other decent lager. Pilseners are hoppier and perhaps rougher but definitely show more character. This is a clean and decent beer but it is as boring as too many.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Okay, I may have been a bit harsh. Lager fanciers will love it and it would accompany spicy food on a balmy evening spectacularly well.

      Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      The fine folk at S.A. Damm market Estrella Damm as a ‘Catalan pilsener’. What this means, and how it differs from your regular pilsener, I am yet to discern (if there are any Spanish readers out there, please enlighten me!). It definitely shares some pilsener characteristics in having a decent blend of hoppiness and bitterness but that’s all I can pick.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Good spot Mase. I was defining pilsner more in the Czech tradition. I didn’t find the Estrella to be what I would call hoppy. I found it very much like other quality European lagers – most of which I would really struggle to tell apart in a blind tasting. Lager lovers may consider me sacreligious but the reality is that my palate just isn’t sufficiently developed to pick lager from lager. Must be why I love big grand ales or big hop flavour pilsners.

        Like

  3. MrT says:

    Another damn excellent beer mister Hell-Cat! I remember my first damn Damm – it was in a tapas bar in Santiago de Compostela and it was on tap. A perfect match with jamon, manchego and pulpo. I’m surprised that they are claiming it is a pilsener style it’s more a tasty bitter. It puts the ‘th’ in cerveza!

    Like

  4. McLean not MacLean says:

    At the risk of sounding like a typical bloody Sydney Eastern suburbanite, Estrella is the perfect accompaniment to good tapas. Glad to see it rates quite well in your blog Hellcat. And it’s Catalan roots are a definite plus in my book. Viva la revolucion, comrade!

    I’m also delighted to hear that Moretti is next on the agenda. I’m a bit of a fan of that as well. I’m off to Italy next year and am looking forward to discovering whether Moretti and Peroni are genuinely consumed in Italy or whether they are like Fosters lager (i.e. a beer that is exported but never consumed in its ‘home country’)

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      McLean I hardly think suggesting Estrella goes well with tapas is typical of a ‘bloody Sydney Eastern suburbanite’. If it is, put me in the guilty as charged category. In my experience, your typical Sydney Eastern suburbanite steers towards Pure Blonde, and Peroni, particularly if it’s $15 a bottle for the latter. Go figure.

      I too am looking forward to next week’s review. I’ve tasted it ages ago, but only realised recently that it is made by Heineken. Will be very interesting.

      Like

      • H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

        I’m a bloody Sydney Western suburbanite and I steer towards things like Peroni as well, I think it’s coming into perfect Peroni weather.

        I’m going to have to try all these beers one by one when I come off my booze ban in December!

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        No offence meant, H.A Chamberlain Esq! I too enjoy a good Peroni on occasion.
        I just meant in my sweeping generalisation, that the hoity toity elite seem to steer towards one or two beers and never veer sideways, and often pay through the teeth for the privilege.

        Tell us more about this booze ban! Was it self-induced or court ordered?

        Like

Leave a Reply

