33. Birra Moretti

Posted: November 10, 2009 in International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , ,

Birra Moretti - BOTTLEBirra Moretti
Italian flag - SMALL

 

Company info:
Heineken Italia
Milan, ITALY

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.90

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: This label really has me a little torn. On the one hand it could be seen as a traditional label depicting a real classy gent with an impressive moustache sitting down to a big mug of beer. You can almost smell the ambience of his surroundings, and the warmth of the room in which he sits. On the other hand the gent could be seen as the sleazy Uncle everyone tries to avoid at a 21st birthday, who looks as though he is about to fall asleep into his beer. And, like a dyslexic fireman, I am leaning towards the latter.

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: It smells delicious, bursting with hoppy, fruity goodness. 

Taste: GLASS – It pours out very light in colour, and being made by Heineken I really expected something similar. Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised by a more hoppy tasting beer with a deliciously bitter after taste. It tastes as good as it smells! 

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Birra Moretti - GLASS

Taste: BOTTLE – The flavour is still there in all its glory and intensity but it tastes a little flatter, and this is a minor defect.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “I think it’s a beer that makes me want more…more beer…and it produced a hefty burp”

She gave it a taste rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Something tomato based would really accentuate and compliment the flavours of this beer. I would love to sit down and drink one with a traditional spaghetti bolognese or lasagna.

Best season to appreciate: Because of the intense, full-flavoured hoppiness, I suggest this as more of a cold weather beer that is sure to warm the cockles of any sleazy Uncle’s heart.

All-nighter beer? Yes, I would be more than willing to drink this all night!

NEXT WEEK: St Arnou Pilsener

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Just enjoying an icy cold one on a hot dry Adelaide afternoon. Clean and pleasant but I’d prefer a more bitter hoppiness. Lager lovers will have no problems with it and it could certainly be drunk all night on a balmy evening.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    Hellcat, I love that you’ve chosen this beer to coincide with Movember. I’m already looking forward to reading your Wicked Elf blog at Christmas and your Hobgoblin blog next Halloween.

    Nine out of ten for the Moretti beer and ten out of ten for the dyslexic fireman gag.

    Like

  3. Ben says:

    I was always put off by the old fart on the label. I would have walked past this beer a hundred times but thanks to your great review ‘seconded’ by the ‘mucker’ sitting next to me I’m going to try it this weekend with a plate of buffalo wings.

    Like

  4. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Whilst strolling home from my local Murphett’s store last night, not a care in the world, a blowfly the size of a dim sim leapt out of nowhere and tried to mug me. Fortunately, I managed to beat him down and make good my escape but it was a close call. I think he was after my Birra Morettis and having tasted them I can’t blame him. Marvellous beer. Nine out of ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

