Tsingtao

 

Company info:
Tsingtao Brewery
QINGDAO, CHINA

[No site listed on bottle]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.20

Label info: ‘Since 1903 our beer has been internationally recognised as the finest beer in China. Our master brewers choose only the finest hops and malted barley to produce this award winning beer’.

What the label really means: Well la di da! Look at us! We’re internationally recognised! Internationally recognised.
In all fairness, this is a pretty decent label description, despite the text requiring a magnifying glass to be read. 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I like the metallic looking green and gold label, the Chinese characters, the Tsingtao (pronounced ‘Ching-Dow’) font, and the little logo. What I don’t like is the neck label giving me details on how I can win a trip to Beijing. Advertising a competition on the label? What, am I drinking Tooheys Extra Dry here? I believe the neck label has been added by the Australian importers of Tsingtao, so unfortunately the low rating is due to their evil hand.

I give it a label rating of 4.5 out of 10.

AROMA: This smells good! A delicious malty, full flavoured aroma wafts out!

Taste: GLASS – This pours really light in colour with an average sized head. I take a sip and note that it is very lightly carbonated…it’s almost to the point where I am searching for a use-by date, indignant that the bottle is flat. I can’t find any indication that something may be wrong with this bottle so I look to the company’s website that informs me “spring water from China’s Laoshan mountain region” is used in the brewing and I wonder if this has caused the lack of carbonation…maybe it has some property that kills bubbles!
On the upside, the light carbonation means it is very smooth. There is a slight citrus taste with an enticingly bitter aftertaste.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – It’s a little more flavoursome from the bottle (perfect if you order one of these at your local Chinese restaurant and get handed a small water tumbler and told it’s a beer glass), with a stronger bitter hit. But still very mild. It goes back a tad easier here. Bubbles? Where are you? (and I’m not referring to the one under Michael Jackson’s bed)

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Flat and unenjoyable”

She gave it a taste rating of 3 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Being that this is so light in flavour, I can’t help thinking it has been designed to be consumed with spicy Asian dishes. I suggest a hot Chinese or Thai dish, and the Tsingtao in your greasy palm will hit like a gentle breeze down your trouser leg.

Best season to appreciate: A real Summer beer here folks. Enjoy in the sun.

All-nighter beer? I’d like more carbonation (I still can’t get over this point….), but yeah I’d give it a go all-night!

Other notes: If you believe I have sampled a dodgy bottle, with less carbonation than is normal, let me know! I may just have to re-sample at a later date.  

Farewell Movember: This month I participated in Movember to raise awareness for male depression, and prostate cancer. If you’d like to donate to my tash, head here.

NEXT WEEK: Pike’s Oakbank Beer

Comments
  1. RobbieD says:

    I think you’ve got a dodgy bottle, bro. I drink the stuff all the time, and it’s definitely not flat. I’d really like you to try it again. I think it’s not really an “on its own” beer, but rather a “beer with asian food” beer. Very good if your meal contains chilli.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Light, fairly sweet flavour which is a bit disappointing after the great aroma when you open a bottle. Not really my kind of lager, but it’s very inoffensive with Chinese food or any other savoury foods.

    Great to see Pikes Oakbank Beer getting a go next week, it’s one of my favourites and I was going to suggest it for a review but Mase has gotten in anyway. Like the Tsingtao, Pikes has a fantastic aroma but I reckon it delivers quite a lot more flavour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

