41. Mountain Goat Organic Steam Ale

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Mountain Goat Organic Steam Ale

 

Company info:
Mountain Goat Beer 
RICHMOND, V.I.C

[goatbeer.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.50

Label info: ‘This is a certified organic steam ale. It’s the product of an all-natural brewing process that incorporates cool fermentation and a hit of wheat malt. The result is a crisp, palate cleansing ale. Handcrafted in Melbourne by Dave and Cam

What the label really means: I am really intrigued by steam ale, having sampled on many occasions the awe inspiring ‘Anchor Steam Beer’ from San Francisco. [For an interesting read on what steam ale is, head here]. But for me what makes this beer seem attractive already (beside the fact it’s ‘all-natural’ – always a bonus when considering your hangover plans), is the final sentence letting us know Dave and Cam were involved. This makes the beer assuredly a friendly label, non-pretentious and very welcoming. I am ready to crack the top off this sucker immediately.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I love the simplicity of this label that conveys strength, class, and the power of goats. The font for ‘Steam Ale’ is perfect and gives an olde worlde charm suggesting traditional methods, and plenty of history. It’s a single band, matte label and just seems to work. No gold, no shiny bits, no pretentiousness. I love it.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A delicious citrus, wheaty aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Despite the power shortage we endured at the time of this tasting, I could still see the glowing gold of this ale as it emerged from the bottle. I notice first of all that it is a super-smooth ale. Yes it’s a little gassy, but it slides back so easily you hardly notice. It has sweet hints of citrus and is certainly crisp. My only complaint is that it feels like it lacks a little depth, I’m not sure what it is. I am a big fan of Mountain Goat Beer, and while the Steam Ale isn’t necessarily their finest hour, it’s still worth an honourable mention.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I am enjoying this just as much as from the glass, and note heavier accents of wheat more so than citrus. 

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Sweet, charismatic with a pleasant, lingering after taste”

She gave it a taste rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: A salty mezze plate, or tapas would really compliment this beer. I’m thinking  a selection of goodies including olives, pruscetto, chorizo, and your favourite cheese. These foods would open up your palate and welcome this ale with open arms.

Best season to appreciate: This is most definitely a Summer beer, ideal for that post-lawn mow drink. Just the incentive I need.

All-nighter beer? Definitely! It goes back super easy, and the all-natural factor will have you up and singing with the birds the next day (I think).

NEXT WEEK: Mythos

Comments
  1. hop2 says:

    its an Australian Pale ale btw, good drop

    Like

  2. […] like the sound of this brew, and as I wrote when I did my review for Mountain Goat’s Organic Steam Ale ’…what makes this beer seem attractive…is the final sentence letting us know […]

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Tried a couple of these today. If, as I suspect, it’s an ale brewed to replicate a San Francisco-inspired effort, then it’s a good drink. Alternatively, if it’s an attempt to replicate a classic steam ale then it’s simply too good to be as bad as the descriptions I’ve read about this style, which is characterised by its dodginesss and general cheapness. This is a fine brew which has interesting hop characters and is generally well brewed, and is well worth a try.

    Like

  4. McLean not MacLean says:

    Just realised it was a troll, not an ogre. Sorry, schoolboy error on my part.

    Like

  5. McLean not MacLean says:

    This sounds like a cheeky little number that I will have to taste, thanks for the tip off Hellcat. I think I’ve had the Mountain Goat Stout and that was quite a decent drop too.

    But erm, the “power of goats”? Sorry, did I miss something? Since when were goats powerful?

    …one quick google search later…

    Oh waitaminute, I stand corrected. In the fairytale of the Three Billygoats Gruff, the third goat does indeed give the ogre a right good kicking (or rather, a right good ‘butting’). You can’t get much more powerful than bashing an orge can you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

