Bee Sting Honey Wheat Beer
Australian flag - small

Company info:
Barossa Valley Brewing
Barossa Valley, S.A

[www.BVBeer.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.40

Label info: ‘This multi award winning all natural ale is brewed with a touch of Orange Blossom honey and double hopped with Styrian Goldings. The result is a complex but refreshing beer. Enjoy with your favourite meal, particularly red meats or anything with a touch of spice. Barossa Valle Brewing…Excellence. Naturally.

What the label really means: Before I begin, Bee Sting’s label immediately lets them down by incorrectly listing their website as http://www.BVBeer.com . If they can’t be bothered proofreading their label, I can’t be bothered amending it on here.
The beer’s description certainly arouses my curiosity and I am most keen to try this. Although it doesn’t dictate my beer purchases, I am particularly happy when the term ‘all natural’ is listed. It hopefully means less of a headache the next day.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Bee Sting has a very effective transparent label that runs in a small strip on the front of the bottle. The words ‘Bee Sting’ are in a gold, cursive font, interrupted with a large, sketch of a honey bee. I like the look of this. It’s classy and elegant without being over the top. A simple band on the neck of the label has the Barossa Valley Brewing logo.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: A very enticing wheaty, floral aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Bee Sting packs a very pleasant all-mouth taste with a very faint hint of honey (let the beer roll around in your mouth and you’ll get the honey subtleties). It leaves an enjoyably bitter after taste and is, for my money at least, better than another honey beer I have tried, Beez Neez. This isn’t a perfect beer by any means, and I am not sure I am appreciating the alleged complexity, but it’s still very enjoyable and I finish this all too quickly.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – A positive of drinking Bee Sting from the bottle is that it immediately cuts the carbonation hit in half. It goes back smoother and instead spends its time emphasising a strong, wheaty taste. It just got better.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “A sharp, apple taste…like an apple Warhead”

She gave it a taste rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I don’t agree with the label that this is a well-suited red meat accompaniment. I do think it would compliment spiced food nicely, but I feel it would sit well with lightly battered foods such as tempura.

Best season to appreciate: With its hints of honey, and light sparkle, I feel this another good Summer thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? It goes back so smoothly, I can’t imagine myself getting sick of it. So yes, it’s an all-nighter in my books.

NEXT WEEK: Bitburger Premium Beer

Comments
  1. […] and ‘Ale’ – very similar to the bee on the reviewed brew ‘Bee Sting‘. But look closely and you’ll see some carefully arranged hops and wheat. It’s […]

    Like

  2. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Bee Sting and I have met before. When I won the much sought-after role of Sandy in my high school production of Grease I celebrated with a six-pack of Bee Stings. Being a coeducational school I was up against some stiff competition so it was quite an achievement. It’s good to catch up with you old friend. Nine out of ten.

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Aah Mase you’ve done it again – introduced me to a beer I expected to dislike, only to find it’s actually pretty bloody good. Easily the tastiest wheat beer I’ve ever sampled. I enjoyed mine on an unusually humid day in Adelaide and it was as refreshing as it was tasty. Unlike other wheat beers, it didn’t have the soapy taste I’ve come to expect with this style. And the hops and honey compliment each other perfectly. Great stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

