46. Bitburger Premium Beer

Posted: February 10, 2010 in International beer, Lager, traditional looking label
Tags: , , , , ,

Bitburger Premium Beer

Company info:
Bitburger Braugruppe GmbH,
Bitburg, GERMANY

[www.bitburger.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.8%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$2.90

Label info: ‘Germany’s No.1 Draught Beer’ and ‘Made using crystal clear water from volcanic springs. Brewed since 1817 according to the German Purity Law of 1516’

What the label really means: This is a beer, presenting itself proudly as supposedly a German top seller. I like the sound of crystal clear volcanic spring water, and I hope to be able to taste some of this earthy purity in the beer.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: What a classy looking, traditional kind of label. It just reeks of quality, and I even don’t mind the gold on this label. My biggest criticism is that it’s perhaps a little boring. There is nothing on this label that I will remember too readily.

I give it a label rating of 6 out of 10.

AROMA: A delicious citrus, hoppy aroma with a distant hint of cocoa. It’s very intriguing.

Taste: GLASS – The key to appreciating this golden coloured pilsner is to take a big sip, and then let it roll around on your tongue. A pleasant, smooth, freshness hit all my taste buds at once, with soft hints of citrus. This is really fresh, really crisp, and very enjoyable.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – While this is certainly enjoyable when consumed from the bottle, and goes back very easily, I feel like the full mouth taste has diminished some what. I can’t get a big all-tongue encompassing sip and it’s just not quite there.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Sweet and smooth…”

She gave it a taste rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I would love to try this with a fresh plate of beer-battered fish and chips, and a side of Greek salad. There’s just something about this beer that makes me think seafood, outdoors, and contrasts in flavours.

Best season to appreciate: Most definitely a Summer thirst quencher. Take to the beach, take to the park, take to a David Hasselhoff music festival, this is an outdoor in the sun beer.

All-nighter beer? I am sure it is! And, given this beer’s earthy purity, I can’t imagine feeling the bad next day after this.

NEXT WEEK: Gage Roads IPA

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Nice inexpensive, inoffensive German beer. Prefer something hoppier, but seems to me to have a slightly more interesting malt profile than some of its competitors.

    Like

  2. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Mine is a petty existence. Fabrication my only chum. The occasional coughing fit my only exercise. But I digress. Bitburger Premium, marvellous beer. NIne out of ten.

    Sniv’s Beer Tip of the Week: Don’t throw away your empty Lucky Beer stubbies, wrap them up and give them to non-drinking friends and family as candle holders.

    Like

    • McLean not MacLean says:

      Great tip there from Sniv – and just in time for Valentine’s Day too.

      I have a little beer drinker’s tip of my own: Bittburger quite often give away a free beer glass with a six pack. I own a lovely big tankard, courtesy of the fine folk at Bittburger. Worth keeping an eye out for.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Yep, I’m a sucker for a free glass deal. There seem to be less around these days compared with a few years back. Come on brewers, we know you read this blog after Chelsea gave the game away a couple of weeks back, give us some promotional glassware!

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Or more importantly, send me your beer to review please! Times are tough for the ol Hell-Cat….I tried to get the Beer Masons on board with some sponsored advertising but to no avail.

        Like

Leave a Reply

