47. Gage Roads IPA

Posted: March 10, 2010 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , ,

Gage Roads IPA
Australian flag - small

Company info:
Gage Roads Brewing Co
Palmyra, W.A

[www.gageroads.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.1%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.60

Label info: ‘Gage Roads IPA is a complex, hop driven ale crafted from all natural ingredients. A modern interpretation of a classic style, our IPA is brewed to be a better bitter

What the label really means: Basically, and to no fault, Gage Roads are covering their bottoms. If you taste this and it doesn’t taste like an Indian Pale Ale (IPA), or even a pale ale, it can be attributed to the fact that this is a modern interpretation. It’s similar to the way that the film ‘Disturbia’ is a modern interpretation of ‘Rear Window’. Let’s hope this Gage Roads creation is more successful.
Needless to say, I am intrigued to try this ‘hop driven ale’ with all natural ingredients. Sounds like a match made in heaven.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’m not positive who the character on the label is, rising up out of the sea, but I am going to suggest that it is the Roman God Neptune. He is only small but look at that muscular chest, two arms raised above his head preparing for battle. A forked scimitar (this also may need confirmation from someone that knows what they are talking about) is raised in his right hand, his scaly fish tale curled up behind him. Under his image are the golden words ‘Gage Roads IPA’. They shoot out from the bottle with beams of light that lift them off the label. I love this label but my only complaint is Neptune should be more prominent. He carries this label across the seas to us.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA: After weeks of negative nasal clarity, I was pleasantly surprised to return to my blog with this aroma. It’s deliciously intriguing. It’s full-bodied, with a hint of honey sweetness.

Taste: GLASS – A beautiful treacle coloured beer poured out from the bottle. At first sip, I again am rewarded  with a delicious smoky, full-bodied flavour with strong hints of caramel and malt. This is a great beer to return to.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle it goes back a tad smoother and hits with all the intensity of flavour as though from the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Tastes like burnt caramel…really tangy”

She gave it a taste rating of 5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I’d love to taste this with a good roast pork, and apple sauce. I’ll be saving one in the fridge for such an occasion.

Best season to appreciate: This tends to lean toward the Winter-warmer camp.

All-nighter beer? I think it would be a great beer to kick off the evening with, and I could easily drink a six pack. Whether I would last all night on it is something else to be confirmed.

Other notes: Thanks very much to my regular readers for baring with me over the past three weeks. I suffered an annoying viral cold that obliterated my sense of taste and smell completely. I did not want to do Gage Roads an injustice and review their beer while I was still not 100%. Thank you for your patience, folks!

NEXT WEEK: DAB Original

Comments
  1. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Yknow, Mase, I’m not so sure that the trident-wielding chap in the Gage Roads logo is Neptune. No, I think it’s just some drunken yob that nicked a pitchfork.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Neptune, drunken yob, they’re very easy to confuse Sniv. Why just last week I confused a road worker with Thor the God of Thunder.

      Like

      • Sniv Whettuce says:

        It’s a tightrope, Mr Maseables, it’s a fooking tightrope. For all we know it’s Plonkus, the God of getting whiffled and falling overboard. After all, Gage Roads is a sea channel off the coast of Perth where the1987 America’s Cup was held.

        Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    A tasty beer. As my premature comments (now deleted and probably just as well – how rude of me to jump the gun on poor ailing Mase!) of a couple of weeks ago indicated, I understand genuine IPA’s to be higher in alcohol and have more acidic hop flavours than this particular ale. Nevertheless, it’s a good drink. I just wish more locally available IPAs were more adventurous in being psychotically hoppy. James Squires IPA is the best there is on the local market, but I understand from a mate in California that brewers on the west coast of the US do some really outstanding work in this area.

    BD’s comments posted a few weeks ago:
    Good beer, tasty and well-brewed. But is it a true IPA? For the uninitiated, India Pale Ales are wonderful beers which were originally brewed to cope with the boat trip from England to India. To survive the longish trip and warm climate, these beers were brewed with strong alpha-acid hops and a good alcohol content to provide extra preservative qualities to the beer. Thus any beer sold as an IPA needs to have acidic hop flavours and to get you drunk fast. This beer comes close, but in my humble opinion doesn’t meet this test, although I emphasise it is a good ale to drink. James Squires IPA sets the benchmark for me – it’s absolutely awesom.

    Like

  3. Sniv Whettuce says:

    Good to have you back, Mase.

    I must have drunk two hundred IPA’s in the three weeks that this blog has been on hiatus. Thing is I can’t remember if it’s because I like the stuff or because I’m trying to curry favour – no pun intended – with the Indian checkout chick at my local Murphett’s. It’s got me completely foozled. Nine out of ten.

    Sniv’s beer tip of the week: sit a snooker ball (any colour) over the opening of your stubbie or bottle between glugs or pourings. Not only will it keep the gas in your beer longer but it’s good intoxicated hand-eye coordination training so it’ll also improve your drink driving.

    Like

  4. McLean not MacLean says:

    Ah, you’re back! Normal order has been returned to the universe. Thank God. Thank Neptune. Thanks Mase.

    Like

Leave a Reply

