48. DAB Original

Posted: March 17, 2010 in International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , , , , ,

DAB Original

Company info:
Dortmunder Actien-Brauerei AG
Dortmund, GERMANY

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.0%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.20

Label info: ‘Original Dortmunder premium beer – the beer of world fame. Brewed according to the German Purity Law of 1516 (Reinheitsgebot)

What the label really means: DAB is making a pretty bold claim that this is ‘the beer of world fame’. Does this translate into note-worthy taste? Let’s sit back, take a swig, and see.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’m not given much to go on with this one. It’s a very boring, basic label that looks like a beer popped straight off the assembly line. The bold DAB acronym sticks out at me like a hideous mole on the face of a school principal (thanks ‘Uncle Buck’). Perhaps it is pronounced differently in German, but to me, DAB does not sound appealing in the least. It makes me think of a verb describing a task undertaken to wipe a bleeding knee with antiseptic ointment. Including an image of a bloody knee on the label would have raised this beauty up to an 8 out of 10.

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: A real delicious hoppy aroma bursting with flavour. I expect this will be a full-flavoured lager.

Taste: GLASS – This is perhaps similar in taste to some of the other international lagers I have reviewed, but the DAB is distinctly mild in taste, distinctly smooth, quite dry in finish, and rather tasty. I feel it lacks a certain punch, but it’s certainly enjoyable and very easy to drink.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – No discernible difference here, and still hits at a very smooth rate. Enjoyable.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Nice body…smooth and pleasant to drink”

She gave it a taste rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Give me some sauerkraut and slow-cooked pork (preferably cut straight from the beast presented before my eyes, complete with apple in mouth). The salt in these dishes would make this dry lager pop up and dance a merry jig.

Best season to appreciate: I didn’t particularly find DAB to be a refreshing thirst quencher, so for that reason I’ll suggest this as more of a Winter brew.

All-nighter beer? Ya know, I think this is an all-nighter beer. It goes back so easily I can’t see myself getting sick of it.

NEXT WEEK: Sol

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    Thought for the day: does the wife have her own blog where she includes a ‘Word from the old man’. And, if she does, what is the topic of this blog?

    Like

  2. luke says:

    yes, i know mexico is north america

    Like

  3. luke says:

    Hey Mason,
    I particularly liked this review for the bloody knee label idea. I think you should submit it to them.

    I see next week you are reviewing Sol.
    You could do a world-first head-to-head battle of the Central American beers:
    Sol (the young upstart from the streets) Vs. Corona (the feisty senorita we have all had) Vs. Cantina (the knockabout from el Salvador with the chip on his shoulder).

    Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    And further to previous, why do I suspect that I’m going to spend next Wednesday dreaming of tacos, enchiladas and jalapenos?

    Like

  5. BargeDave says:

    Agree with the review 100%. I have no knowledge of the German language but I’d be guessing that Germans would refer to it as ‘Dortmunder’ rather than ‘DAB’. Certainly an all-nighter given its inoffensiveness but not a particularly inspirational flavour. My only complaint about the review is that I’m going to spend the rest of the day dreaming of roast pork with saurkraut – Damn you Mase!

    Like

Leave a Reply

