Cricketers Arms Lager
Australian flag - small

Company info:
Sundance Brewing
Melbourne, V.I.C

[calager,com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.60

Label info: ‘Cricketers Arms is brewed longer to deliver an extra dry lager. Made with sun dried Australian malt, Cricketers is infused with Amarillo hops imparting an intriguing citrus character to the aroma and flavour

What the label really means: I like the mention of ‘extra dry’ and ‘sun dried Australian malt’. It immediately conjures up thoughts of hot Summer days with insects buzzing, the cricket on the telle, and the sweet, sweet sound of a beer being cracked open. I think the guys at Sundance Brewing are hoping you make the Cricketers Arms Lager your cricket-watching beer.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: In selecting this week’s beer it was definitely the label that sold it for me. I love the bold red colour, and the large lettering reading CAL. It looks like a very traditional label, dating back as far as the sport of cricket itself. In fact it looks like it could easily be a crest on a club jacket. Behind the main lettering are the names of famous cricket grounds from around the world in tiny black lettering. Starting with the MCG, and the Sydney Cricket Ground, it also includes other grounds such as Shastri Stadium, and Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. The neck label is also very impressive being a coat of arms – it tops off a great looking beer. This certainly has wow factor.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: Malty, almost chocolatey in finish but bursting with a real freshness.

Taste: GLASS – This beer pours out a nice golden colour. It’s a really full-bodied lager that hits with a powerful spin. It has a very mild citrus taste, is quite dry, but remarkably drinkable and remarkably thirst quenching. With each sip I taste new flavours and I find this to be a very enjoyable beer.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle it loses a little of that all-mouth feel, and when consumed quickly its more like a soluble Panadol in water. Not great.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Rich, pleasant, fruity”

She gave it a taste rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Being such a heavy flavoured beer I wouldn’t suggest this accompanies spiced or full-flavoured food. So, perhaps this would work as a great seafood accompaniment.

Best season to appreciate: Although the cricket theme suggests this would be a Summer beer, its full flavour makes me more inclined to drink this during the cooler months. But hell, I’ll have to try one of these in front of the cricket, the sounds of Summer swimming in my ears.

All-nighter beer? Yeah sure. I’d love to try it out.

NEXT WEEK: TBC (Suggestions welcomed)

Comments
  1. H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

    I was a bit curious about this one too. I don’t want to rush out and buy one RIGHT NOW, but its in the back of my mind as an option.

    Mase, you should try to get your hands on a bottle of Stone & Wood Pale Lager. They have a list of their outlets at http://www.stoneandwood.com.au

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      H.A. – Good call! I’ve tried Stone and Wood on tap and really love it. It’s an earthy, herby sort of beer that really intrigues me. Haven’t seen the bottled version so will definitely look out for it.

      Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Well, Mase hasn’t exactly been bowled over by comments about this one. In fact, it appears to have gone through to the ‘keeper. No doubt Sniv will give it a strike rate of 90! I wanted to make more cricket gags, but I’m stumped if I can think of any.

    Like

Leave a Reply

