Menabrea Birra

Company info:
Birra Menabrea
Spa, Biella – Italy

[www.birramenabrea.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.1%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.60

Label info: ‘N/A’

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Menabrea Birra host’s a very regal looking label with a predominantly silver background. A golden coat of arms displaying two lions sits above the Menabrea text. It’s an ok label. Sure it suggests a classy beer, sure it suggests a long history, sure it suggests quality. But it’s very safe. Perhaps a little too safe. Am I asking too much to see one of those lions ripping the head off of one of the Mario Brothers?

My other problem is the word ‘Menabrea’. It sounds too much like ‘membrane’ and makes me think I am about to consume a bottle of sheep guts preserved in formaldehyde.

I give it a label rating of 5.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A mesmorising, zesty, citrus aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Good, non-offensive, citrus tasting. Sure it’s smooth, sure it’s easy to drink, sure it’s quite tasty. But my problem is, it’s hardly original. In fact, it’s almost a little too generic. I didn’t have my hopes raised high, I just wanted something memorable. As it stands, Menabrea Birra will easily be forgotten by me amid a sea of ever-pleasing lagers. And, like the time I sang the Proclaimers hit ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’ at karaoke, it’s best left unspoken.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Becomes watery, flavourless, and very boring. Definitely one for the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Sweet, citrus-like, easy to drink”

She gave it a taste rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This beer may work well with some fatty, pastry goods such as meat pies or sausage rolls. I’m not sure why. I just have a hankering for something like that while sipping this beer. Perhaps I’m pregnant.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a warm months, thirst quencher. In fact, I am sure this would work very nicely chilled and consumed at the beach.

All-nighter beer? Menabrea Birra goes back so well it could be an all-weekender! But would you be yearning for something else at the end of it? I believe so.

NEXT WEEK: Byron Bay Premium Ale

Leave a Reply

