Leffe Radieuse

Company info:
InBev Belgium
Brussels, BELGIUM

 

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 8.2%
Standard drinks: 2.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$5.99

Label info: ‘The authentic Belgian abbey Beer’

What the label really means: With the suggestion of blood, sweat and tears poured into bottled form from Belgian religious types how can this beer possibly go wrong? It’s time for some real monk[ey] business!

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: From the red foiled neck to the illusion of burnt parchment this label sings of class, tradition and history. The label is like an old treasure map lighting the way to a beer of pure delight within. It’s all topped off with a sketch of a stained-glass window, an abbey its subject. I like the use of orange and red, and I like the fake wax seal on the upper label. But, amidst all the tranquility, would a head on a stake really go astray? Come on InBev, lift your game.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: It’s a very soft aroma with hints of malted bitterness.

Taste: GLASS – The Leffe Radieuse pours out a burnt orange colour that both intrigues me and surprises me. The taste is a super-smooth chocolate sweetness with an intriguing bitter after-taste. I really love the fact that carbonation is barely noticeable in taste yet creates an eye-pleasing ever-present head of fluffy foam.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, Leffe Radieuse becomes even smoother refining it to its purest elements of malted scorched goodness. But what it gains in flavour it loses in surrounding aroma and that all-mouth experience. I just want to take a big lip-to-lip sip and just can’t. It’s good, but I suggest this is best served from the glass. And I’m sure the monks would agree.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: Unavailable for comment

She gave it a taste rating of X out of 10.

Accompanying food: This dark ale would suit something rich and hearty. I’d like to suggest this accompanies a fine roast lamb, with gravy and baked vegetables.

Best season to appreciate: I can think of no finer accompaniment to a night beside a fireplace than the Leffe Radieuse. This is definitely a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? At 8.2% alcohol it would easily see me through the first half of the night. The second half involves me curled up on a couch. Tied to a boom-gate.

NEXT WEEK: Stiegl Bier

Comments
  1. Brian says:

    This is one of my favorites. It uses a dark malt and spices (coriander among others). I buy mine from a local mail order company http://www.beerhawk.co.uk/radieuse.html

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    I think this is the first Belgian ale you’ve reviewed Mase, and it’s most certainly a class act. The Leffe Brun is available on tap at a handful of venues around the place (Belgian Beer Bar in Adelaide has it) and it’s just as fine. This stuff is one of the grandest ales going and at $6 per bottle, it just shows how huge world-class ales are so affordable compared with even medium quality wines. I’m pretty sure this ale isn’t low carb though 😦

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Yep you’re absolutely right BD, it is the first Belgian ale reviewed for the blog. I’ve definitely tried this before at the Sydney Belgian Beer Cafe and was keen for a revisit.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Many other great Belgian ales out there – the Chimay beers are astounding, Duval is good, the Chouf blonde is interesting….I really do have to visit Belgium one day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

