Stiegl Bier

Company info:
Stieglbrauerei zu Salzburg GmbH
Salzburg, AUSTRIA

[www.stiegl.at]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99

Label info: ‘A wonderful refreshing Salzburg lagerbeer speciality’

What the label really means: A straight to the point, almost lazy description.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I love this! This is the kind of label I would be proud to have wrapped around the body of my national beer. It has an Eastern European, almost Commo-art feel to it that reeks of tradition, and reeks of quality. I love the bold red font and the off-white backing. I love the red steps that lead the eye around the bottle to see the cheeky ‘bier’ imprinted underneath. This is sheer bloody label delight. Stieglbrauerei I salute you.

I give it a label rating of 8.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A very soft and mellow wheaty aroma.

Taste: GLASS – This light coloured lager is really quite refreshing, and really tasty. It’s very smooth, and the carbonation is so subtle you barely notice it. It has a mellow, lingering wheaty flavour that clings to your palate long after the last molecule has headed south.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this from the bottle, I am pleasantly surprised that it is just as enjoyable. I still get that refreshing, thirst quenching taste, and I still note that it remains as mellow and smooth as from the glass. Enjoy it with the lights on.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

A word from the wife: “Light, crisp with an apple flavour. Quite pleasant and easy to drink”

She gave it a taste rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I might be a bit biased as this is what was on the menu for the night of the tasting, but I think it would genuinely suit a good rack of pork ribs, fries and lightly peppered coleslaw. The saltiness and richness of the marinade would really set this beer on fire.

Best season to appreciate: Stiegl is yet another thirst quencher. Very keen to try this in the warmer months.

All-nighter beer? Definitely. I cannot see myself getting sick of this little number.

My apologies: I’m a week late with this review due to a stomach bug last week. Thanks to my regular readers and contributors for your patience.

NEXT WEEK: Blue Tongue Premium Lager

Comments
  1. Jeremy says:

    Great review Mason, I’ve been suggesting this to quite a few people of late.

    I love its rich, yeasty flavour and fluffy head.

    Like

Leave a Reply

