60. Bluetongue Premium Lager

Posted: June 30, 2010 in Australian lager
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Bluetongue Premium Lager

Company info:
Bluetongue Brewery
Cameron Park, N.S.W

[www.bluetongue.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.50

Label info: ‘Flat out like a lizard drinking. That’s us. Busy taking the time needed to brew an exceptional lager in the traditional method. Bluetongue Premium Lager’s fresh, full flavour comes from soft Hunter water and the finest local malted barley. Tasmanian bittering hops combine with the late addition of noble German Hersbrucker hops to create a deliciously crisp bitterness and a tantalising floral aroma’

What the label really means: Stone the flamin’ gallahs this bonza little beauty is trying its darndest to sell itself to the overseas market. I’m not arguing with it and they should totally be proud of their Aussie ingredients but it comes off as a little bit try-hardy to me.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’ve said it before, blue just doesn’t work on a beer label. It makes me think of mouth wash or chewing gum. Sure they are trying to capitalise on the use of an infamous Aussie reptile, the bluetongue lizard but is it to good effect? Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of the bluetongue lizard. They are notorious for hanging out in backyards and keeping ferocious snakes at bay (why isn’t this depicted?) so they certainly have earned their spot as reptile least likely to be eradicated by pensioners. But, does the blue need to be carried onto the rest of the label? I don’t think so, and it’s a major reason I have put off reviewing this beer for so long.

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: This drop smells delicious. It’s an enticing fusion of citrus and wheat.

Taste: GLASS – A very crisp citrus fused lager with a dry, bitter, after-taste. It’s not as bad as I imagined it would be, but it’s not great. It’s hardly distinctive and not particularly memorable. It’s in danger of being a little generic lost in a sea of Aussie lagers.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, Bluetongue Premium Lager becomes a little more bitter, a little more dull, and a little more watery. Not good. Insist on a glass for this.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I think this beer would actually be enjoyable accompanying heavily spiced, chilli foods. Particularly Asian dishes.

Best season to appreciate: This is a beer better suited to the warmer months. However, the distinctive dryness of this beer means it is no thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? The dry-ness and bitterness seemed to intensify throughout the tasting with a real back of mouth disturbance. I don’t think I could drink too many of these.

NEXT WEEK: Kozel Premium

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    I agree with the review – an inoffensive but ultimately pretty bland beer. Inoffensiveness in a beer is not a great characteristic – I’d rather be offended by a beer with strong flavours than try yet another bland beer.

    Like

    • Jeremy says:

      Agreed. I seem to remember it being a bit of a different beast (reptile?) when it was first released. Its become a bit of a mass-market blando-blandy-bland since. (?)

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        It sure is blandy-bland-blando-calrissian! I remember tasting it when it first came out too, but I wasn’t overly impressed back then either.

        Like

Leave a Reply

