Żywiec Porter

Company info:
Żywiec Brewery
POLAND

[www.zywiec.com.pl]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 9.5%
Standard drinks: TBC

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$4.99

Label info: ‘N/A’

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label shows a man and lady dressed in traditional costume, linking arms and dancing a merry jig. Look at them with their carefree attitude to life and relaxed views on alcohol consumption. Oh how I yearn to be dancing with them, drinking till the sun comes up, picking my Polish leotards out of my butt crack. Between them a royal crown floats in the air suggesting this is a beer for royalty. I love the tradition this label instills and dammitt, it makes me want to be a Polish lad. Even if only for a day.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: Chocolatey. Rich. Enticing.

Taste: GLASS – The Żywiec Porter is rich, super smooth, and almost creamy in texture. Carbonation is barely noticeable and it slides back with the sweetest of ease. It has a burnt flavour overriding it with a very strong bitter after-taste. It’s a bit too harsh for me but I am sure Porter fans will rejoice.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this from the bottle it becomes even more bitter on the palate, and even more noticeably alcoholic in taste. It’s definitely not as smooth and it’s definitely not as enjoyable.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This hearty beer deserves a hearty accompaniment. I’m talking a cooked to perfection roast dinner with thick gravy, and roast vegetables.

Best season to appreciate: This is a Winter warmer and would suit a tasting beside an open fire place.

All-nighter beer? Not for me. This one bottle took me far too long to drink – it was just too harsh.

NEXT WEEK: Three Sheets

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    I haven’t seen the porter in Adelaide yet despite stopping past several DM’s outlets. Will be sure to keep an eye out for it though.

    Like

  2. H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

    Should qualify that wasnt the porter but the lager.

    Like

  3. H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

    Speaking of Polish beer, have you ever stumbled across any Ocokim over here? I spent the vast majority of my time in Krakow blitzed on it and I’d love some more!

    As for the Zywiec, last had my fix when they were selling special 7 pack of 500ml cans from Dan’s at Chrissie, tasted very sharp, but it did the job quite nicely 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

