Three Sheets

Company info:
Lord Nelson Brewery
Sydney, N.S.W

[www.lordnelson.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$TBC

Label info: In no particular order, the info listed on this bottle is:
– ‘Praise the Lord’
– ‘100% Natural Ale’
– ‘Australian Craft Brewed’
– ‘Perfect now’
– ‘Sydney’s first boutique pub brewery’
– ‘Sydney’s Oldest Licenced Hotel’

What the label really means: With so much info crammed onto the label of this beer it says that they either have an eleven year old running their marketing department, or that they’re hoping to astound us with such amazing facts as ‘Sydney’s Oldest Licenced Hotel’ in order to cover up a very ordinary beer. Let’s hope this isn’t the case.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: As much as I appreciate the tradition this label brings (and I really do appreciate it) it is so crammed full of information it just looks rushed, busy, and distracting. The coat of arms is brilliant. I love the phrase surrounding Lord Nelson that reads ‘Every man must do his duty’. It suggests heroism, tradition, and honour. But then, directly above it is what I consider a pointless use of flag wavers (no doubt spelling out a word or phrase that I can’t be stuffed working out), and above that are a whole string of nautical flags (also most probably spelling out something that I have no interest in deciphering). It looks clumsy as though it’s been designed by your Dad after he discovers Wingdings in Microsoft Word. If half of the text was eliminated and the clumsy imagery removed, this label could easily rate very well.

I give it a label rating of 4.5 out of 10.

AROMA: Very soft, very atttactive, slightly musk-like in smell. Love it.

Taste: GLASS – I love the taste of this. The pervasive musk-taste of this beer is accompanied by a healthy dose of wheaty goodness. It’s unique, it’s different, it’s unusual, it’s delicious. My only problem is that it’s a little too fizzy for a pale ale and not as smooth as I expected. But I’m not going to let that ruin this tasting.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – It’s still a lovable beer when consumed from the bottle but it loses the aroma experience, becomes even less-smooth, and even tastes a tad tinny. Definitely one for the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This brew would sit beautifully with a big juicy steak. It’s a real hearty meal accompaniment.

Best season to appreciate: This is definitely a Summer thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? Absolutely! And if cases weren’t $60+ I would make this my new regular beer.

NEXT WEEK: Old Speckled Hen

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    This is a delicious beer with a distintive doff of the cap to English real ales, not dissimilar to Baron’s ESB. I’ll definitely be checking out that pub if I ever make it back to Sydney.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    In terms of entertainment value, this is your best beer review so far. Made me laugh out loud several times. Great work Hellcat.

    Readers who aren’t from NSW should check out the Lord Nelson pub if they are ever in Sydney. They do a selection of their own brewed beers on tap, with something for everyone (no, I’m not on commission).

    By the way, me and Old Speckled Hen go waaaay back. I’m looking forward to your review next week.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Thanks McLean…I am surprised this is considered my best work as I wrote it very bleary eyed at about 11pm. Still, perhaps this is a theme for me…I once wrote a 3,000 word essay for uni, starting at 10pm and working until 3 or 4am and received a high distinction. Go figure.

      Agree, the Lord Nelson Hotel is definitely worth checking out. It’s a favourite for locals and tourists alike.

      Like

  3. Fran says:

    Maybe the best name ever? Hey Mase did you see the trademe listing going off!
    Bottle Caps for Art or Charity.
    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=307787544

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Hey Fran! Yeah I agree this one does have a great name!

      I love the bottle caps auction. Excellent idea! My collection almost matches that…not quite. But I’ve only collected caps with trivia questions underneath thus far….it’s for my grand plan to one day have a beer-cap trivia bar.

      Like

Leave a Reply

