Trumer Pils

Company info:
Trumer Privatbrauerei
Salzburg, AUSTRIA

[www.TrumerPilsInternational.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The neck label pronounces ‘Einfach leben!’ meaning ‘Simple Life’. It’s a motto for us beer fans to live by. The humblest of ingredients mixed together and served chilled for our devouring. Taking pleasure from the simple things in life is reinforced with their logo – a robust beer wench carrying a stein of beer in either hand. Table-service beer comes a close second to free beer.
The wench from the logo is re-printed as a large ghostly figure in the background. The label looks classy, yet fun.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: It’s a very light, golden beer that whispers sweet nothings of freshness, citrus infused delight, and gently waving wheat scents.

Taste: GLASS – Trumer Pils is tasty, enjoyable, citrussy, inoffensive, smooth, and thirst-quenching. But oh so generic. I expected this wouldn’t necessarily be a beer that I would be rushing out to buy more of, but I had the slightest glimmer of hope for more. Don’t get me wrong, tasting this beer on its own without a myriad of similar tastings behind you, it tastes great. But for me, just like wearing my underwear on my head as an excuse for a party trick, it’s a case of been there, done that.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Trumer Pils (I love saying, nay, typing this name), tastes better suited to the bottle. It goes back smoother and really tantalises the back of the mouth. Nice one Trumer Pils.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Being a light coloured and tasting beer, this would sit well besides some crispy fish and chips, or a plate of salt and pepper squid.

Best season to appreciate: Summer – it’s a great warm afternoon antidote.

All-nighter beer? Yes! I could drink this all night…and party ever-ee-day!

NEXT WEEK: Budejovicky Budvar

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    Nice work Mase, this review has arrived just in time for Summer. And just in time for my next trip to Dan Murphy’s. I shall pick up a few of these tonight.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Sounds good, McLean!
      If you happen to see it for a good price, I would like to strongly recommend Baron’s Pale Ale. I bought a very cheap case recently and declare it to be beer of the month.

      Like

      • McLean not MacLean says:

        Oh curses! I just returned from the bottlo and then saw your reply! Blast it! I’m now supping Trumer Pils as I type this. You’re right, it IS better from the bottle! Your expert analysis never lets me down Hell-Cat!

        Incidentally, from the bottlo, I picked up 6 x Hatlifter Stouts, 6 x Cascade Stouts, 6 x Lucky beers (novelty fat buddha bottle shape will make for a good dinner party gift this weekend), 6 x James Squire Porter and 6 x Trumer Pils. Happy days.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Aye Carumba McLean! Was that the better half of $100?
        Don’t fret about Barons Pale Ale – I think it’s back to full price now. Still good though.

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Nice one Mase – although I can’t help but wonder if you’re talking up Barons on the basis that we know they read your blog! I’m not sure I’ve tried the Barons Pale Ale – it wasn’t particularly memorable if I have – but I frequently enjoy their ESB. Now, good people at Barons, surely it’s time to start delivering a few freebies to Mase for all his efforts to increase your sales!

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Surely, BD, surely! If it helps convince the good folk at Barons further, I wear their logo’d t-shirt regularly!

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Just further to previous, tried a Barons Pale Ale last night and it’s not bad at all – decidedly hoppier than I’d remembered and well worth a purchase, particularly if it’s going cheap.

        Like

Leave a Reply

