Budějovický Budvar

Company info:
Budějovický Budvar, Národní Podnik
České Budějovice, Czech Republic

[www.budvar.cz]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.0%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99

Label info: ‘The original, world renowned Czech lager, imported from the historic city of České Budějovice in the Czech Republic’

What the label really means: This label description has clearly been written by a marketing exec that has not only not tried the beer but also someone that is pretty freakin’ lazy. Probably someone from Milwaukee.  I mean, come on! Surely, sight unseen they could write something a bit more appealing. I’ll have a crack at it and you be the judge: ‘When the words Budějovický Budvar are spoken aloud, it is said that a thousand thunderous voices will boom from above, singing in unison their heavenly commands. Commands pronouncing that we sip, share, enjoy. Budějovický Budvar – it’s heaven sent gold’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label suggests a regal, traditional, classy kind of beer. It’s reinforced with fancy golden foil on the neck and a mock wax seal. Now, I’m not a fan of foil on beers. I hate the added effort of peeling it away from the rim and the untidy look it produces. I’m also not a fan of yellow gold. But, those points aside, there is a very impressive coat of arms behind the beer name – if only that were bigger and more pronounced. Points for trying but otherwise a bit too tame.

I give it a label rating of 5.5 out of 10.

AROMA: Pleasantly hoppy, with a strong citrus under-current. Very inviting.

Taste: GLASS – Surprisingly smooth, this baby slides back with the sweetest of ease. With barely noticeable carbonation, it’s a mild, citrus infused lager with a comforting hint of bitterness. Not bad at all.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink it from the bottle and you’ll find Budějovický Budvar is just as enjoyable and just as smooth. This is really quite a fun, uplifting beer and it grows on me the more I drink it. My complaint with it is that it drifts into generic lager territory, and put up against others of its class you’d be hard pressed to identify it in a blind tasting. Still fun.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I reckon Mexican food would accompany this beer well. Being such a smooth beer, it would really work itself into a lather. Or something.

Best season to appreciate: This is definitely a Summer thirst quencher. Probably one of the most quenching non-dry beers I have tried in recent times. Roll on Summer.

All-nighter beer? Absolutely!

NEXT WEEK: Hop Rocker

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Your reference to Milwaukee is interesting – I understood that this beer predates Budwieser and is sort of the inspiration for it. I couldn’t comment as I have quite proudly never sampled either Bud or Miller (although I was once forced to try the disgusting Miller Chill). I don’t mind this beer.

    Do I understand correctly that next week’s beer is Mac’s Hop Rocker Pilsner? If so, then I urge readers to get themselves a sample – it won’t disappoint.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Further to previous, this beer can be enjoyed safely in the knowledge that it has nothing to do with the American ‘Budwieser’ brand: http://www.radio.cz/en/article/130311

      And on the topic of dodgy American beers (and I emphasise not all US beers are dodgy, the products of some smaller US breweries are world-class), Miller Chill’s only good point is that it answers the question ‘what would beer-flavoured Gatorade taste like?’.

      Like

  2. luke says:

    I was gonna get angry, but that mo’ has left me fulfilled.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      P.S. For those that came in late, this comment was in response to a photo of a man with a large moustache that I posted (while working on my Budejovicky review). It was deemed far too silly to retain on this high-brow site.

      Like

Leave a Reply

