69. Punk IPA

Posted: September 8, 2010 in ale, ill-conceived label, International beer
Tags: , , , , ,

Punk IPA

Company info:
BrewDog
SCOTLAND

 

[www.brewdog.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 6%
Standard drinks: 1.8

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$4.50

Label info: ‘This is not a lowest common denominator beer. This is an aggressive beer. We don’t care if you don’t like it. We do not merely aspire to the proclaimed heady heights of conformity through neutrality and blandness. It is quite doubtful that you have the taste or sophistication to appreciate the depth, character and quality of this premium craft brewed beer. You probably don’t even care that this rebellious little beer contains no preservatives or additives and uses only the finest natural ingredients. Just go back to drinking your mass marketed, bland, cheaply made watered down lager, and close the door behind you’
AND
‘BrewDog: Beer for Punks. Brewdog is about breaking rules, taking risks, upsetting trends and unsettling institutions but first and foremost, great tasting beer. Let us know what you think of Punk IPA: punkipa@brewdog.com

What the label really means: I like the snotty, punch to the face attitude that BrewDog are trying to convey here. I like the fact they openly state they don’t care if we don’t like their beer. The label description gives a nice little back story to the beer and enhances its tough quality ten fold. While I can’t help noticing the irony between the ‘we don’t give a stuff what you think’ attitude and the line ‘Let us know what you think’ I am keen to see if the beer is as tough as they suggest.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I dunno about this. I’ve long been a critic of blue beer labels. They just don’t work and damn….I mean, I like the stencil-art, rough, slapped down with a rag on a stick style that BrewDog have tried to capture here but the blue throws it all out of whack. Had it been red, or black I’d be heralding this as the break through in beer label design we’ve been waiting for. BUT, the tagline for this brew is ‘post modern classic pale ale’. Am I meant to put my prejudice aside, and my ideas of what makes a good label, and love this label because it’s ironic, it’s ‘post-modern’? Am I meant to ignore the fact that BrewDog are attempting to break away from mass marketed beer yet fall into the hands of mass marketed fluro pop-punk narcissism? Is all forgiven by calling this ‘post modern’? No, I’m afraid it isn’t. You can’t on the one hand be telling us how much of an individual you are yet sport a carefully crafted uniform to align yourself with punk subculture. It rings of a cheap marketing ploy that I am not buying into. It’s the Good Charlotte of beer labels. (Plus the label is blue. Nuff said).

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: An intriguing slice of hoppy wheaty goodness.

Taste: GLASS – This is a classically hoppy IPA with an all mouth whack of bitterness. It’s very smooth tasting but the underlying bitterness always swirls up like a smack in the face. It also has a distinct earthiness that contributes well to the over all taste. Never mind the bollocks, this is punch drunk worthy.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Less bitter, more enjoyable and with less of the earthiness tasted in the glass. In true punk fashion, this beer should be consumed from the bottle…and then belted over the head of an innocent bystander.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I’d like to try this with something completely non-punky…perhaps something soft and delicate in flavour such as lightly battered squid or tempura. And a side dish of safety pins.

Best season to appreciate: I picture this as more of a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? Not for me…it’s a little too bitter to go past a six pack. I could be mistaken.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Bernie says:

    Tried this for the first time last night and loved it.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    I found this for the first time yesterday and had my first (but not last) Punk IPA last night. The bitterness approaches the level experienced from a decent grapefruit. It’s excellent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

