71. Miller Genuine Draft

Posted: September 22, 2010 in ill-conceived label, International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , , ,

Miller Genuine Draft

Company info:
Miller Brewing Company
U.S.A

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 355 mL

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.40

Label info: ‘Brewed from the finest malted barley, selected cereal grains and choicest hops’

What the label really means: Assuming ‘choicest’ is a word, it just looks funny. Choicest. Couldn’t they have used ‘finest’ or ‘totally awesomest’?

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Miller Genuine Draft you are really testing my patience with this label. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, I don’t think gold works on beer labels. It’s a marketers attempt to make a beer classy and reeks of tacky choicest cheapness. Combine the gold with the bold black, and the clear bottle, and you have the liquid equivalent of Benson and Hedges cigarettes. I don’t want to hold something like this, let alone look at it.
One thing I do have to mention, is the printing on the back of the label, visible only once the beer has been consumed (at least this is the only time I noticed it). On the back of the label is a monochrome picture of an eagle (as seen on the front of the label) flying high above a wheat field, a field that has recently been harvested. The eagle has some hops clenched in its claws – the beer lovers equivalent of the peace dove and olive branch. In small cursive script the words ‘America’s Original Draft Beer’ stand proudly. This is the label that should be on the front, and this is the label’s component that scores all of this beer’s rating.

I give it a label rating of 4 out of 10.

AROMA: Surprisingly hoppy, hinting of full-bodied goodness inside.

Taste: GLASS – It’s smooth, citrus-infused, with a slight twist of bitterness. It’s not mind blowing, and I hardly think it’s anything memorable, but it’s certainly drinkable. Before the tasting, I had already categorised this beer as a close, inappropriate, kiss on the lips upon meeting, cousin, of Budweiser, but this is definitely the better cousin – the one without the clammy hands and hair lip. The other surprise for me is that Miller Genuine Draft is not the dry lager I expected it would be; it’s actually kind of thirst quenching.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – While it loses a little of its complexity, this beer becomes a little easier to throw back. It retains its smooth, drinkable qualities and will surpass others of its ilk. I believe it’s one of the better US mass-market beers.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Light pastry goods (such as curry puffs perhaps) would treat this beer like a lady. A lady in desperate need of dance lessons, better fitting clothes and a pedicure.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? I think this beer has been designed with large consumption in mind and I think I could drink it all night. It is inoffensive and smooth enough to make even Tom Jones fans quivery in the nether regions.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Has everyone seen ‘The Adventures of Barry MacKenzie’? The scene where our Bazza goes to a pommy pub in Earl’s Court and runs into a bunch of his Aussie mates? The bit where they serve him a pommy beer which he declines but then samples on the basis of their promises that it’s top stuff and he sprays it when he finds it terrible? Why do I feel that Mase is trying to pull this exact stunt on me?

    Alright, I’m going to try it. Will keep you posted.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      haha – yes I know the scene very well.
      Very keen to hear your thoughts BD. Was I simply blinded by not having a beer for 48 hours and anything would taste good, or is there merit to MGD? Give me your thoughts readers!

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Okay, further to previous, have now sampled my first ever bottle of Miller.

      And it’s nowhere near as bad as I’d have expected. Interesting flavour, rather than tasteless as expected, and fairly cleanly brewed. I find some poorly brewed beers taste like you’re drinking a concoction of powder that’s been dissolved in liquid. This beer has this to a small extent, but not to a significant extent like far too many cheap beers.

      It’s not great, but it’s better than inoffensive – it’s at least good. It’s quite similar to Coopers Pilsner.

      Like

Leave a Reply

