Zlatopramen

Company info:
Drinks Union a.s.
Ústí nad Labem, CZECH REPUBLIC

 

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 500 mL

Alcohol: 5.1%
Standard drinks: TBC

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$4.29

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Firstly let’s ignore the fact that Zlatopramen sounds like diabetes medication, and to suggest such a thing would be a huge blunder of cultural insensitivity. Perhaps Zlatopramen rolls off the tongue of the well versed Czech? So, the tongue twisting name aside, the label is pretty boring. Sure it’s tradition laden but does it look like a well designed label? To me they’ve decided 1642 was a good year and they ain’t changin’. Put in a picture of a 30 ft goat terrorising a small village, or a toothless hick with a sickle and it may score higher. Until then, sorry Zlatopramen.

I give it a label rating of 4 out of 10.

AROMA: A subtle, floral, wheaty aroma. It’s enticement in a bottle.

Taste: GLASS –Zlatopramen pours out a slightly orange colour, and not the sparkly golden lager I expected. One sip and my expectations are once again thrown as I am hit with a slightly malty tasting brew, almost amber ale in flavour. This is very enjoyable. It’s smooth and very drinkable. I would suggest this is quite a dry beer but this does not detract from the overall experience.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking Zlatopramen from the bottle is not quite the experience it is from the glass. It becomes watery, more gassy, and the alcohol more noticeable. Not enjoyable by half. Drink this little blighter from the glass or rack off.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I’d like to try this with a nice tomato-based pasta. I think the acidic tomato would enhance the malty flavours of Zlatopramen (yes, I’m trying to see how many times I can put the name Zlatopramen in this review). Maybe a delicious cannelloni.

Best season to appreciate: With Zlatopramen’s darker colour and flavour, I suggest this as more of a cooler months brew. Prove me wrong, citizens of Zlatopramen.

All-nighter beer? At first I would have said no to an all-nighter on Zlatopramen, mostly due to its dry nature. But over the course of this generously sized 500mL bottle, this has really grown on me like hair through a wart. Once the bottle was drained I was immediately reaching for a phantom bottle of Zlatopramen that never came. Zlatopramen, Zlatopramen, Zlatopramen.

NEXT WEEK: Newcastle Brown Ale

Leave a Reply

