73. Newcastle Brown Ale

Posted: October 6, 2010 in ale, International beer
Tags: , , , , ,

Newcastle Brown Ale

Company info:
Newcastle Federation Breweries Ltd
Dunston, ENGLAND

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99

Label info: ‘Imported from England’ and ‘The One and Only’

What the label really means: Nuff said.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: This is a fairly iconic label. It’s one of those labels that sticks out, is easily spotted, and is very readily seen in many bars. I appreciate it for the fact that it has an almost comic-book feel to it, enhanced with the blue Captain America-esque star in the centre. Within the star there is a small silhouette of the Newcastle sky-line. On either side of the star are a couple of gold medals that I suppose the beer has won over the years.
Over all, I don’t think the label is anything special. Sure it stands out and ticks all the marketing boxes but is it appealing to the average beer drinker? Not for me. It looks cheap and mass produced. And don’t get me started on the clear bottle.

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: A strong malty, hoppy aroma that smacks you square in the schnozz.

Taste: GLASS – Newcastle Brown Ale is a very smooth drop. It tastes malty and toffee-like and has a slight toasted burnt flavour. It is these flavours that combine to make this quite a heavy drink, like a steak in a glass. Thankfully the heavy nature of the ale is offset by very minimal carbonation, also contributing to this being very smooth. It’s simply dashing, ol chap.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – This is a little easier to drink from the bottle as it somehow becomes lighter and less flavour intense. I almost sense a fruity mouth taste that adds a completely different element.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I think this would sit nicely alongside a range of flavours found in a Lebanese banquet. I’m thinking lady fingers, hummus, and kafta mishwi.

Best season to appreciate: Due to Newcastle Brown Ale’s dark colour and taste, I suggest this is more of a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? Probably not for me. I suspect this would hit me with an almighty next-day punch.

NEXT WEEK: Samuel Adams

Comments
  1. H.A. Chamberlain Esq. says:

    Wish they sold the big bottles like they do in London.

    It’s one of my favourite beers honestly. Maybe it’s my desire to be more continental but I always buy a six pack when finances permit.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    This beverage got me through many a night at University back in Blighty. I always found it hard to drink in large quantities though (think that might be down to the heaviness that you detected Hellcat). It’s certainly an iconic beer. The blue star used to appear in the centre of the Newcastle United football shirts. Always looked quite cool.

    …and Samuel Adams next week? Hellcat, you’re spoiling us!

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Ahh interesting history on the blue star McLean! I wondered how it fit in!

      Samuel Adams next week…haven’t had it for years and really can’t remember how it goes! It will be interesting to see how it goes.

      Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    It occurs to me that most of the Newkie Brown I’ve ever consumed has been on-tap. I think the clear bottles are a turn-off. I enjoy one occasionally but like most English beers it’s better served in a glass in a hopefully-not-too-wanky English style pub.

    Like

Leave a Reply

