75. Stone & Wood – Draught Ale

Posted: October 20, 2010 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , ,

Stone & Wood – Draught Ale

Company info:
Stone & Wood Brewing Company
Byron Bay, N.S.W

[www.stoneandwood.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.4%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.99

Label info: ‘Stone & Wood was founded by three blokes who share a love of beer, taking a fresh approach to brewing hand crafted beer in Byron Bay, one of the greatest places on earth. This cloudy golden ale is brewed using Australian grown barley, wheat and Galaxy hops resulting in a beer with a big fruity hop aroma and a refreshing finish’

What the label really means: The label description sings a song of Summer. It feels down to earth, friendly and fun.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I really like the look of this label. I like the blown up almost cartoon-like font, and the green linking ampersand. There is warmth in the orange, and the yellow sun glow. This again reinforces the Summery feel of this beer. I like the simplicity of the beer and this is evident when it is noted that no neck label is attached. And if I thought the label looked good, it feels even better. The letter is actually raised, in a kind of gloss finish, that lifts it from the bottle and it truly is something you just want to keep touching.

Every time I see the label I am reminded of the early 90s Aussie band ‘Things of Stone and Wood’ and their single ‘Happy Birthday Helen’. I mention it here for sheer nostalgic reasons.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: This is quite possibly the best smelling beer I have reviewed in 2010. Amazing. Take a whiff and you’ll get citrus fruits such as blood orange, nectarines, and a tinge of grape fruit. Very pleasing….I could sniff this all day.

Taste: GLASS – This is a deliciously crisp beer. It’s certainly a thirst quencher and the notes of citrus are definitely there. However; I feel this ale is a bit over carbonated and the tingly bubbles will dance on your tongue and distract the true taste of the beer. The carbonation has really diminished this experience.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – This is still a beer worth writing home about however when it’s consumed from the bottle you’ll lose the delicious scent surrounding your nostrils and this takes away from my experience. One thing I am more cognisant of is the delicious after taste this ale produces. There is an amazing sweetness that lingers long after the final drop has been swallowed. Beautiful!

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: It’s definitely an outdoor beer. Try one as you wander the Summer noodle markets while sampling peanut satay skewers and light stir-fried noodles.

Best season to appreciate: What better beer to signal in the start of Summer. This is definitely a thirst quencher and one designed for the warmer months.

All-nighter beer? Absolutely! Stone & Wood Draught Ale will even pop round and tuck you into bed.

Other: I had previously tried Stone & Wood Draught Ale on tap many, many times along with their other fine drop the Pale Lager. I was very excited to see the Draught Ale in bottle format but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my previous encounters. If you see either of these beers on tap anywhere I strongly suggest you order the biggest glass available and settle back – you can thank me later.

NEXT WEEK: John Smith’s Extra Smooth

Comments
  1. Love your review Hellcat. This blog is getting better by the week. And I will definitely be tracking down some Stone & Wood this Summer.

    ‘Happy Birthday Helen’ was the ideal way for me to open a recent ‘mix tape’ CD that I sent a Pommie friend of mine for her birthday. Guess what her name is?

    …and The Ashes series is coming so bring on the John Smith’s next week! Time to see how a good old English bitter rates against all these Aussie pretenders we’ve been reading about!

    Like

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by stone & wood, Mason Hell-Cat. Mason Hell-Cat said: This week at Hell-Cats Beer Blog its Stone & Wood Draught Ale and I've run out of Melbourne cliches http://tinyurl.com.au/x26 #cryptic #beer […]

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    I’ll keeep an eye out.

    “Happy Birthday Helen” was a catchy ditty by a one-hit-wonder which is entirely forgettable EXCEPT for the legendary piss-take of the song performed by the Late Show team in the early 90’s, which includes the only musical reference to the Victorian Tourist Bureau ever recorded.

    Like

  4. Ben0 says:

    Wow! 22/30 from Maso’s see/smell/taste rating…I need to get me some of this!

    Must admit I have walked past this beer a heap of times in Dan Murphy’s and at pubs thinking it was just another water flavoured beer from some brewery claiming to be based in Byron but actually brewing in some dinky dive in Melbourne…

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Definitely try it on tap first Beno. You’ll be pleasantly surprised.
      It’s a shame that it has a relatively low alcohol rating – this is bordering on mid-strenght – but still worthy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

