79. Innis & Gunn Rum Cask

Posted: November 24, 2010 in ale, International beer, traditional looking label
Tags: , , , , , ,

Innis & Gunn Rum Cask

Company info:
Innis & Gunn
Edinburgh, SCOTLAND

 

[www.innisandgunn.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 7.4%
Standard drinks: TBC – listed as 2.4 Units

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: Beer supplied by the good folk at Dunnottar Wine and Spirits

Label info: ‘We have mastered this specially brewed Innis & Gunn beer for 107 days, with every single drop spending equal time in both American oak barrels and barrels which previously contained rum.

The result of this unique process is a delicious beer with a fruity, spicy character, unlike any other’

 

What the label really means: Who wouldn’t want to sample a beer that has sat brewing in old rum barrels? This is revolutionary and while I don’t claim to be a big rum drinker it has certainly perked my taste buds to a salivating frenzy of jibbering nonsense. I do have a little bit of concern however as flashbacks come to me from an Aussie beer that tried infusing vodka with beer about 10 years ago. But this will be different, right? It damn well better be.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: There’s a musky Gentlemen’s Club kind of feel to this label. It makes me think of cigar labels or a fine bottle of cognac that’s sat upon a shelf and brought out for only the most special of guests. It’s blokey, it’s musky, it’s exclusive. I appreciate its simplicity, and its old world charm. I cannot overlook the annoying clear bottle that the label sits upon. Why, Innis & Gunn, why? You were looking so good.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: Malty with deliciously spicy or cinnamon tones. Definitely a good teaser.

Taste: GLASS – Based on appearance (and ever so slightly on scent), I expected this would be a very bitter amber-ale style brew. My first sip nearly floored me. This is a delicious ale that is very softly carbonated, slight coffee taste, and a distinct rum-undercurrent. It’s so smooth and easy to drink, almost warming in its presentation. It reminds me of an old tawny Port and it’s just as comforting. Very impressed.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – It becomes a little over-powering when drinking from the bottle. The alcohol hits with more of a noticeable punch and there is a distinct back of mouth bitterness. Not quite as enjoyable as from the glass but still confirms itself as a beer worth trying.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10

.

 

A word from the wife: “Probably not one for the ladies but perhaps the ladettes”

She gave it a taste rating of 6 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This with a good ol fashioned roast lamb or saucy lamb shanks would set my heart all a flutter.

 

Best season to appreciate: A Winter warmer – certainly one to curl up with beside an open fire place.

All-nighter beer? On first look of this beer I would have said no. But, with each sip, Innis & Gunn grows on me. The fact it is so easy to drink is an added bonus and I could easily drink this all night.

Other: As noted, this beer was supplied by Scottish bottle shop ‘Dunnottar Wine and Spirits’ who have sent me a few beers to sample. I have received no additional incentives to endorse any supplied beers. I’m very thankful to Sandy and the crew for helping me realise my dream (and the reason I started this blog) and that was to one day receive free beer. Why not check out ‘Dunnottar Wine and Spirits’ store by clicking on the advertisement to the right of this page? Go on, git!

Btw, for those of you playing along at home, I have seen this Innis & Gunn beer in Australia. Definitely worth seeking out.

NEXT WEEK: Cantillon – Rosé de Gambrinus

Comments
  1. […] is my second Innis & Gunn reviewed beer (the first can be found here). The only difference between the two labels is that this Original has more red. So, I re-post my […]

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    Och aye the noo etc etc This soonds leek a cheeky luttle numberrrr. Worth trackin’ doon mathinks. Ha feel likes ma ancestors huvtae doff their wee tartan hats at this little beauteh.

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    I’ll check it out. It appears from the claims on the label to be of the Scottish Ale variety. If this is anything like ‘Scotch Ale’ (eg as brewed in Australia by Grand Ridge Brewery) I doubt I’ll be a fan. A home-brewing mate once concocted a recipe involving quite a lot of sugar alongside the malt (to boost alcohol), and I thought he’d come up with a bit of a disaster until I tried the Grand Ridge Moonshine Dark Scotch Ale and realised that he’d actually perfectly emulated a $6/stubby beer.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Further to previous, I haven’t found the I&G Rum Cask yet but I have just sampled the I&G Original Oak Aged Beer as purchased from the local DM’s, which is presumably the poor cousin of the Rum Cask. It’s a Scotch Ale style and as expected it’s not my cup of tea due to the almost complete absence of hops or bitterness, but it is bold, well brewed and full-flavoured (as well as being 6%) so although I won’t be going back I still suggest folks give it a go. I also purchased another Scottish beer, the Punk IPA which Mase introduced us to a few weeks back, which I much prefer.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        I, too, was unable to procure myself a sextet of Rum Casks from my local Murphetorium and had to settle for Oak Ageds. I was a bit pivvled actually, if pivvled is the word I’m after, because it’s only 6.6% and I made a new financial year’s resolution not to drink anything under 7%. Fortunately, I’m always thinking, so I thought ‘feck it’, and guzzled ’em double-quick and the next morning I found my foozling pantaloons in a neighbour’s meter box. It’s been a while since that happened.

        Nine out of ten.

        Like

  4. Ben0 says:

    Wow 7.4% that’s some big arse alcohol content. I would probably be able to drink two or three of these at best and then either look for a palate cleanser in the vein of a Little Creatures Pale Ale, White Rabbit Pale or James Squire Pilsner or alternatively a lamb kebab with garlic sauce.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Honestly BenO you won’t even notice the high alcohol.
      Which, depending on your point of view could be a good or a bad thing…

      Like

Leave a Reply

