Raj IPA


Company info:
Tryst Brewery
Larbert, SCOTLAND

[No website listed on botttle]

Bottle size sampled: 500 mL

Alcohol: 5.5%
Standard drinks: TBC – Listed as 2.75 UK Units

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: Beer supplied by the good folk at Dunnottar Wine and Spirits

Label info: ‘A distinctive India Pale Ale exclusively English hopped to capture the original features of these legendary ales. Balanced flavours, nose and mouthfeel combine to produce a memorable drink.’

and

‘Store upright, serve slightly chilled and pour with care to leave the natural sediment in the bottle. Optimum serving temperature: 12 degrees centigrade’.

What the label really means: Sounds very interesting! I am always intrigued by beers that have a list of steps to follow before consuming. Is it a good thing to help you taste the beer at its optimal best, or is it a little like visiting the Soup Nazi? Still, I’ll follow the outlined steps and see how it goes. Looking forward to tasting an authentic IPA’

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: From first glance this label isn’t anything great. It appears to be an Indian-esque painting containing the stereotypically over-exposed elephant. But, dear readers, take a closer look and you will see that there are pith helmetted explorers riding in big woven baskets a board monstrous elephants. Indian guides sit on top of the elephants gigantic head, and at the back of the riding basket. But it’s then that things really heat up. There is a freakin’ tiger climbing the face of the elephant in front, set to attack one of the Indian guides. This looks like a blood bath waiting to happen. One of the English explorers stands bent over, prodding the tiger with his bayonet or perhaps lining up a killer shot. Either way, the tiger saves this beer from mediocrity and launches it into cool.

If it weren’t for the rest of the label, including the ‘Raj India Pale Ale’ text in a horrible font, this label would be scoring top marks. Guys, spend some time on the rest of your label design and you might have a winner on your hands. Until then I’m afraid I have to say…

I give it a label rating of 6 out of 10.

AROMA: It’s a very pleasant smell. It’s earthy, a little wheaty, and a slight twist of citrus.

 

Taste: GLASS – It’s a nutty beer (as in tasting like nut, not being insane) with a bitter all-mouth taste. Swirl it round your mouth and you’ll find it to be a beer that elevates earthiness to another level. It’s rough, and it’s dry but damn this is one distinctive beer to be tasted. Strangely enough it is definitely worth the nutty, dry, bitter ride.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
I guess given the instructions on the label that this isn’t intended to be consumed from the bottle. But, I’m doing it any way. It hits with a stronger than strong earthy taste that is a little hard to take. It’s almost like taking the husks from coffee beans and crunching them up in your mouth. It’s incredibly bitter and not at all as appertising.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 4.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side The Cure’s ‘Pictures of You’.

Accompanying food: This has the makings of a pre-dinner drink. It gets the saliva glands going into over-drive in preparation for a hearty meal ahead. Drink this with some spicy pepperoni or salami to really accentuate that crazy saliva mouth feel.

Best season to appreciate: Although this is definitely not a thirst quencher, I feel it is still best suited to warmer months.

All-nighter beer? Not for me I’m afraid…it’s too dry to allow me to last more than about 2 or 3.

NEXT WEEK: St. Mungo’s Pure Heavenly Lager

Comments
  1. Ben0 says:

    For some reason I love IPA. I always order IPA draughties whenever I can especially down at the James Squire Brewhouse (which for those that don’t know is closing down!). I love the song of choice section (and in particular last week’s Swedish soft core punk selection). I can also picture myself drinking this and listening to Vampire Weekend for some reason?

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      BenO – if you are an IPA fan you will love this. Definitely one for the fans.
      And yeah, I reckon it would work well alongside ‘Vampire Weekend’ too.

      Like

    • McLean not MacLean says:

      James Squire Brewhouse closing down? NOOOOOOO!!! I’m so depressed I am now going to go and listen to The Cure all night.

      Pop trivia fact: Robert Smith from The Cure is a real beer lover. He and his band once drank the bar dry on the Orient Express. They claim the only band they ever met that could outdrink them was… wait for it… Bananarama! No shit. I am not making this up.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        I meant to also add my ‘NOOOOOOOO!!!’ vote for the terrible news. [I guess I got too carried away with the music].

        Very sad news for Sydney Squire fans.

        Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    I love a good IPA and will keep my eye out for this one. Not too sure about The Cure though.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      It may prove difficult to fnd in Australia – haven’t seen it myself but you never know!

      Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      Not a fan of The Cure ‘ey, Bargé? Neither was Radio Snivins, but he decided to follow Hellakazoo’s counsel and guzzed a jar of VB, the closest thing he could find to Raj IPA, whilst listening to Pictures of You. He’s still not a Cure fan, but at least he’s taken the first step to being whiffled for the evening. Nine out of ten.

      Like

    • McLean not MacLean says:

      Barge Dave, I recommend you track down this IPA and also go and listen to a copy of Disintegration by The Cure (including the aforementioned ‘Pictures of You’. Pure Genius, as the makers of a certain Irish Stout would say.

      Like

Leave a comment