St Mungo
 

Company info:
West Brewery,
Glasgow, SCOTLAND

[www.westbeer.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: TBC – Listed as 1.7 UK Units

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: Beer supplied by the good folk at Dunnottar Wine and Spirits

Label info: ‘WEST St. Mungo Lager is brewed to strict adherence with the German Purity Law of 1516, the oldest food law in the world. WEST has selected only the finest German malt and the most noble hops, to create a deceptively easy drinking, light golden lager. Brewed in honour of Glasgow’s patron saint and fellow brewer, St. Mungo premium lager is naturally carbonated and can be enjoyed on its own, or equally well with food. Best when served chilled… to induce that full heavenly pleasure’.

What the label really means: What is it that makes this ‘deceptively easy drinking’? This implies that the beer appears easy to drink but is in fact the opposite. It’s like if you look outside on a Winter’s day and the sun is shining – it can look deceptively warm. Hmm! I am already confused and I haven’t had a drop!
On the plus side, any saint that was once a brewer gets my official nod of the head and two thumbs up. Good on ya, Mungers!

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Look at the class that emanates from this label. This is one fancy looking label. It has ye olde style font for the ‘St’ that sits beside a very solemn sketch of Mung-man himself. There he is with a massive beard (as all people had back in those day – even the women and children) looking on with approval and a hint of cheekiness that just seems to scream ‘panty raid in the girl’s dorm at 3am!’. There are only faint tracings of yellow gold (not enough for me to be annoyed) outlining the label.

Sure, I would have loved to see a sketch of Mung tending to a big barrel of lager, dressed in his robes, his head tilted to the heavens in a desperate plea for the the perfect drop, but over all, the label still works.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: I’ve experienced this golden lager smell at least half a dozen times this year. It’s nothing new but it is a deliciously citrus-infused aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Just as the aroma suggested, this is another of those citrus lagers. But it’s so refreshing, clean, easy to drink and very very enjoyable that I hardly remember any others. Take big gulps of this and you won’t be disappointed. West have done their version of a golden lager with startling effortlessness. It’s deceptively enjoyable.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
Drink the St. Mungo from the bottle and you lose a bit of the experience of the surrounding citrus aroma hitting at you from all sides. But, in its place is a delicious musky twist that really helps accentuate this brew to greatness. So, in my opinion this is one to be consumed from the bottle; and with a label with that much work done to it, makes sense.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side ‘Angel of the Morning’ by Joya Landis

Accompanying food: Try this alongside a delicious home-cooked burger with farm-cut chips. It’s a match made for the ultimate outdoor picnic.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer thirst-quencher. It’s just so refreshing and perfect for a hot day.

All-nighter beer? Yes, I really think this. I can’t see an end in sight for drinking the delights of Mungo.

Other: To all my readers and regular contributors, thanks for sticking your head around week in, week out. I’d like to extend Christmas well-wishes to you and yours and look forward to seeing you back here next week for the final review of 2010. Cheers!

NEXT WEEK: Trade Winds (yep, it’s another Scottish brew)

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    Hellcat, you saved one of your finest 2010 reviews to last – great work. Had me and the wife chortling over our festive beers (mine, a Squire’s Porter; hers, a Hop Rocker – I couldn’t track down St Mungo although I’ll have a good pray at Midinght Mass tonight and I’m sure one will turn up in no time).

    Thanks for fighting the good fight all year, laying yourself on the line by drinking assorted ales and beers for our enjoyment. You’re a trooper. Have a poptabulous Crimbo.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    ‘Angel of the Morning’? I think this is just winding me up after I queried The Cure the other week. Sure I’m just too 90’s-centric but if I was drinking a ‘Heavenly Lager’ it would be to Radiohead or perhaps Blur.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      BD – one of the finest reggae classics ever cannot be so easily dismissed. At the very least, surely you get the irony of an angel themed tuned.

      On a related, freaky note, your comment above is comment 666 on this site. I curse you to hell, good sir.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Mrs Barge has frequently accused me of being too snobby about commercial music and once again she is right. Apologies for my closed-mindedness. I missed the irony too! In that spirit, perhaps I would listen to The Saints while drinking this?

        Like

Leave a Reply

