86. Great Northern Brewing Co.

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Australian lager, Avoid even if free, ill-conceived label
Tags: , , , , ,

Great Northern Brewing Co.


Company info:
Great Northern Brewing Co
Yatala, N.S.W
[NB: I have since found out that this a Fosters brew. There is nothing on the bottle to indicate this]

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.2%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.49AU

Label info: ‘Brewed in Queensland for Queenslanders, Great Northern is brewed longer to produce a super crisp lager. We think it’s about right for up here and hope you do too’.

What the label really means: ‘We can’t be stuffed giving you an explanation on this beer – just drink it ya Queenslander’

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The name of this beer is actually ‘Great Northern Brewing Co’. Sure it has beneath it ‘Super crisp lager’ but that’s more a description than a name. What kind of idiot names their beer ‘Great Northern Brewing Co’? And then, after my tasting I found out it was Fosters. The same guys that have bottled a urine coloured beer, in a clear glass bottle, with a marlin fish that looks remarkably similar to the one on ‘Wahoo’ beer. Lame. No effort, waste of time, throw-away, mass-produced label for a throw-away beer.

I give it a label rating of 2 out of 10.

AROMA: It’s very mild, and almost earthy, but nothing too distinct.

Taste: GLASS – I really expected this to be a Toohey’s Extra Dry clone. Thankfully I found that Great Northern Brewing Co is not as sharp. However it is just as dry, which to me is a turn-off. It’s very mild, and citrussy in flavour. It’s mildly flavoured water at best and not a beer I will be rushing back to.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
A teeny bit better from the bottle. I feel like I can at least throw it back quicker and not let it taste my tongue upon exit. Thankfully I can bypass the mouth-linger and am leaning more and more towards this being a very, very bad beer. Avoid at all costs.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side anything that will calm down your impulse to smash your head through a glass coffee table.

Accompanying food: Greasy fast food. This is a burger and fried kind of beer – something to have on the run and slam down fast.

Best season to appreciate: This is hardly a thirst quencher but it’s definitely destined more for the Summer months.

All-nighter beer? No thanks. Blandness really gets on my nerves after a few beers and this brew has it by the truckload.

NEXT WEEK: Timmermans Kriek

Comments
  1. James ingham says:

    I dont know when YATALA moved to NSW or just like great northern its bright yellow and not a croc hunters beer at all..

    Like

  2. Fran says:

    Seems a bit expensive too. 3.49AU….that like 6 or 7 hundy nzd aye?

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      I think you’re right Fran. For many New Zealanders it often comes down to a bottle of this brew or a deposit on a house.

      Like

  3. Ben0 says:

    I wonder if Great Northern Brewing Co (or Fosters for short) are trying to save money by not actually naming their beers? They could save tonnes of money by just using the same label over and over again!

    Seriously, who doesn’t name a beer?

    I would love to name a beer I would call it something like ‘Mega’ or ‘Triple T’ or even ‘I’ll have what the Gentleman on the floor is having’ seriously this is a real name http://www.tampabay.com/features/food/spirits/article503293.ece

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Totally agree with you BenO on how annoying it is to not name a beer. Laziness has crept into the deepest darkest corners of the beer community.

      Can’t get that link to work that you have posted…! It sure seems like something I’d love to read too!

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Great link BenO. I’ve tried a couple of those beers and particularly recommend the Fin du Monde. I also recently tried an Australian brew called My Wife’s Bitter, which was good but overpriced – Baron’s ESB is similar quality but much better value. As a home-brewer, naming home brews is good fun, and if you’re keen you can even design labels.

      Like

Leave a Reply

