87. Timmermans Kriek

Posted: February 3, 2011 in International beer, Kriek, Lambic, Tough label
Tags: , , , , ,

Timmermans Kriek


Company info:
Br, Timmermans Kerkstraat
BELGIUM

[anthonymartin.be]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $6.99AU

Label info: ‘Belgium’s Finest Lambic Beer’

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label has a black and white photo of five blokes, brewers undoubtedly, who stand facing the drinker. Each look like they will beat the living crap out of anyone who even smirks at their impressive facial hair. These are men that mean business. They know their beer, they know their strengths in a fight, they know how to grow moustaches by simply squeezing it out. And then they are a little undermined by two cherries on a stalk. But I can’t hold that against these men that had no clue how their image would be used by future generations. These are men of dignity and grace. Men who made wearing aprons fun in 1781.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A distinct and attractive smell of cherry. If you weren’t aware, kriek is a type of lambic beer (my second reviewed for this site) that has been fermented with cherries. So the smell is hardly surprising.

Taste: GLASS – This is really quite enjoyable. I’m sampling this on a warm Summer’s afternoon and it is going down surprisingly well. It has the main taste of cherry, sure, but it is definitely not sickly sweet as I expected it to be.  It’s a very different take on beer and one to be supped on, or mulled over.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
Drinking from the bottle it loses a little of the experience by the notable absence of the all-consuming, enjoyable scent. Still an enjoyable experience though.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

A word from the wife: ‘Delicious and fruity and not too sweet…’

She gave it a taste rating of 8 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side Dylan’s ‘Don’t think Twice it’s Alright’

Accompanying food: I think a delicious steak and kidney pie with rich gravy and crispy pastry would suit this beer like an Indian tailor.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? No, not for me. It’s a nice beer to try, for novelty sake, and to tick it off the list but it’s more of an appertiser to something more fulfilling. As ‘Belgium’s Finest Lambic Beer’ I am sure it has a good following but it aint for me.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Ben0 says:

    Can’t for the life of me get into Lambic’s. A cold schooner of resch’s with a dash of lime is the closest I get.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    I’ve tried several stores but can only find their strawberry lambic, not their cherry kriek. In unrelated news, I enjoyed my annual feat of drunkenness yesterday – got through a 5L mini-keg of Heineken while watching the Superbowl from the US, don’t remember any of the last quarter but apparently I was having a good time.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Nice work BD. I do like the novelty of those 5L mini-kegs….they’re a bit pricy but good to have ‘tapped’ beer innit?

      Like

  3. McLean not MacLean says:

    I’m not a huge fan of cherry beers either Mase. But I do admire a well-sculpted moustache. I seem to recall you were sporting a rather fine one a couple of years back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

