90. Fursty Ferret

Posted: February 23, 2011 in ale, International beer
Tags: , , , , , ,

Fursty Ferret


Company info:
Hall & Woodhouse Ltd
Dorset, ENGLAND

[www.badgerales.com]

Bottle size sampled: 500 mL

Alcohol: 4.4%
Standard drinks: 1.7 (or also listed as 2.2 UK Units)

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $6.99 AU

Label info: ‘When the idyllic country home of Miss Rose Gribble became an inn, legend suggests the inquisitive local ferrets frequented the pub’s back door to sample its own reputed brew. A tawny amber ale with a sweet nutty palate and a hoppy aroma with hints of Seville oranges. Goes extraordinarily well with cheeses, flapjacks and cookies’

What the label really means: I am purposefully ignoring all talk of back doors, ferrets, and the lonely old widow Miss Gribble. Ahem…

I do like the history of this beer and whether it’s true or not is no real concern. It’s a fun story and a fun name for a beer.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: There’s an old wooden beer barrel that stands in the middle of this simple, almost child-storybook, label. It’s surrounded by four thirsty (fursty), mischievous, ferrets. One of the ferrets lies beside the barrel catching a drop of ale as it falls. I like the fairy tale feel the label has, like I’m opening a book by Hans Christian Anderson, or the dude that wrote ‘Wind in the Willows’. A comical badger sits above a banner simply reading ‘Badger’. Frankly this ‘Fursty Ferret’ label flies far into fun territory and off to a land far, far, away. Prepare to be furst quenched.

 

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: There is a delicious mish-mash of malty / hoppy goodness. Fresh!

Taste: GLASS – A flavoursome, malty, smooth ale that is beautifully smooth. It’s a little dry, but very easy to drink and I am throwing this back like a ferret on its back feverishly drinking the dregs of an empty keg. There is a really pleasant all-mouth feel and this is quickly becoming a fun session beer. Fabulous!

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
Taste this from the bottle and you’ll realise straight away it’s just not as good. For starters a strong taste of alcohol over-rides many of the subtle flavours and suddenly becomes a bit one dimensional. Still good, but not really one for the bottle in my eyes. Frantic!

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I’m not sure why, but I am drinking this and garnering a real hankering for chocolate cake or chocolate brownies. Flavour-mad!

Best season to appreciate: This is a Winter brew. Sit beside a fire, crack into a chocolate fondue and your night is set. Fondue!

All-nighter beer? Absolutely! In my eyes this glass has no bottom! Foolish?

NEXT WEEK: Dos Equis XX Ambar

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    A brilliant review of a tasty and very worthwhile beer. The review and the beer itself will both put a smile on your dial.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    Ah, just the mention of flapjacks has left me misty eyed with nostalgia for a bygone era (that is, the era when I lived in the UK). You can’t buy flapjacks Down Under (as far as I know) so I will have to bake some of my own and then sample some of this beer alongside it. Can’t wait! Thanks for the tip off Hellcat!

    Like

  3. Luke says:

    may I suggest a song to listen to while drinking this?

    The Ferret Song by Monty Python

    I can see a bare-bottomed mandrill
    Slyly eyeing his upper nostril
    If he jumps inside there too
    I really won’t know what to do
    I’ll be a proud possessor of a kind of nasal zoo
    A nasal zoo

    I’ve got a ferret sticking up my nose
    And what is worse it constantly explodes
    Ferrets don’t explode you say
    But it happened nine times yesterday
    And I should know ’cause each time
    I was standing in the way

    I’ve got a ferret sticking up my nose
    I’ve got a ferret sticking up my nose
    How it got there I can’t tell
    But now it’s there it hurts like hell
    And what is more it radically affects
    My sense of smell

    [- From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/m/monty-python-lyrics/the-ferret-song-lyrics.html -]

    Like

  4. Ben0 says:

    The great sage writes, ‘I am purposefully ignoring all talk of back doors, ferrets, and the lonely old widow Miss Gribble.’

    Probably your finest work Mas0, this had me doubled over with laughter

    Like

Leave a Reply

