Dos Equis XX Ambar


Company info:
Cerverceria Cuauhtemoc Moctezuma
Monterrey, MEXICO

[www.dosxx.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $TBC AU

Label info: ‘Crafted in Mexico since 1897 to commemorate the arrival of the ‘XX’ Century, ‘Dos Equis’ stands for ‘Two X’s’ in Spanish. In our second century of fine brewing tradition, we continue offering Dos Equis Ambar, a rich, robust flavoured beer with the smooth drinkability of a classic dark-style lager, a true Mexican work of art’

What the label really means: Steeped in tradition, they’re proud of their history. Olé!

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: It’s a soft bronze that dominates the outside of this label, while two massive red X’s stand sharply in the middle.  There’s a bit of gold, it all has a metallic shine to it and it looks all fancy and new. Do I like it? Well, not particularly, and I am very keen to breeze over this label and continue with the review. That is until I spot the little Mexican Aztec fella faintly printed between the X’s, staunchly staring to the heavens. He is the hero of this label and it is he that scores the points – if only he and his face were bigger. Perhaps holding an axe. With a slain wild boar over one shoulder.

I give it a label rating of 5.5 out of 10.

AROMA: Enticingly malty goodness.

Taste: GLASS – I immediately notice how lightly carbonated and smooth this beer is. It is sliding back with the sweetest of ease and almost making me forget I am here to review. It’s a mild tasting amber ale and it’s so mild in fact that it’s bordering on boring. It seems to lack any real depth or stand-out all-mouth feel. Again, it’s very easy to drink but I am after more than something inoffensive.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
It becomes a little watery tasting when drinking this from the bottle. Dos Equis Ambar certainly needed no reason to become even more mild than it is and yet here it is, becoming even more boring. I’m going back to the glass to finish this one.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Food with a real spicy / chili bite would really suit this beer well. Mexican, Thai, chili king prawns…bring it!

Best season to appreciate: I am leaning toward this being more of a Winter brew than anything.

All-nighter beer? The Dos Equis Ambar is so freakin’ easy to drink that I could easily see this through to the wee hours of the morning. But, after one of these, I am keen for something with a bit more flavour.

Note: It was only after completing this review and adding the tags that I realised I had already reviewed a beer from Cerverceria Cuauhtemoc Moctezuma, Sol. Completely unintentional. I’ll leave this review up, with my apologies.
On a related note, I’ve just discovered that Cerverceria Cuauhtemoc Moctezuma is a part of Heineken. So perhaps I am guilty of more than just this one..?

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Got around to trying one. McLean’s assessment is perfect. There are some decent dark lagers out there (if you get a chance to sample the Black Giraffe Coffee Lager it’s worth the premium price, also Sam Adams has previously been reviewed by Mase) but this is not the best by a long shot.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    This beer is the opposite of this blog. It’s utterly bereft of personality or character. To use an English phrase: this beer bores the tits off me.

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Mase, don’t be too worried about your rule of not reviewing more than one beer per brewer until you’ve run out of beers – corporate mergers and demergers occur all the time so many beers will have histories longer than their current corporate ownership. I’m always interested in a dark lager, and will give this one a burl. For those interested, there are a few coffee-flavoured lagers on the market which are worth checking out from a curiosity point of view if nothing else.

    Like

  4. Luke says:

    where have the songs gone?
    You’ve crippled one of my senses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

