96. Hoegaarden

Posted: April 6, 2011 in ale, International beer
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Hoegaarden


Company info:
Hoegaarden Brewery
Hoegaarden, BELGIUM

[No website listed on bottle]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.9%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-screw

Cost: I picked this up for $4.60AU

Label info: ‘Unfiltered, naturally cloudy’
and
‘The original Belgian white beer’

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: It’s a very simple label, predominantly silver in colour with a soft cream border. In fact it’s mass-market beer label design at its simplest. The Hoegaarden script across the middle is the defining feature and is a very well recognised logo. Above the logo are a couple of religious type icons perhaps suggesting monk-al roots but it’s not clear. Perhaps if these were more predominant the label would gain a higher rating.

I give it a label rating of 4.5 out of 10.

 

AROMA: A distinctly wheaty cinnamon infused scent. It is unbelievably scent-rousing.

Taste: GLASS – A real cinnamon taste with hints of spice flows through this very smooth wheat beer. It is undeniably a classic flavour that is difficult to find fault with. Delicious.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.
Taste: BOTTLE –
As predicted, drinking this from the bottle is like using the little opening on y-front undies (not as fun, makes the task more difficult, but still gets the job done). It loses a little of the flavour here, plus you lose that all encompassing aroma. Good but not great.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side The Barnstomper’s ‘So Much’

Accompanying food: Seafood would accompany this little baby beautifully. I’m talking garlic king prawns, salt and pepper squid, or just fresh au naturale sea-goodness.

Best season to appreciate: A genuine Summer brew best enjoyed on a lazy, warm Summer afternoon.

All-nighter beer? Definitely – if it weren’t so pricey this would be a regular of mine.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Luke says:

    Is Hoegaarden the one Gary used to make us drink at The Argyle?
    If so, I seem to remember it tasting like bananas from the tap.
    Not real bananas, mind you, but those lolly bananas.
    As you know, Mason, I love wheat beers because I grew up on a wheat farm and I like to think that my Dad’s life work could be used for more than just bread and cake, and I’m quite happy to have fruit added to my beer. I like this beer but nothing beats a Redback.
    If the powers that be at Redback knew what was good for them they would fly you to Melbourne and put you and Fran up in a hotel within walking distance of the Redback beer hall in Fitzroy and not let you leave until you had reviewed their whole menu. That may include 2 or 3 meals, which should be on the house as well. Just saying…

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      There is a Redback beer hall? Sounds amazing….! Oh the review I could provide that brew and brew-place, coinciding with my 100th review. Still….It couldn’t possibly happen could it?

      Oh well, I best head back to clearing my d_gen @ hotmail.com email address of old emails.

      Like

  2. McLean not maclean says:

    Greetings from the (very excellent) little creatures pub in Melbourne. Supping on a pint of ( tap) white rabbit dark ale. Have to say I’m not a fan of hoegarden tho mate, sorry. Haven’t quite got my head around this style of beer for some reason.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Hey McLean – always good to have you drop by.
      When you say ‘Little Creatures pub’ is it in fact owned/run by the Little Creatures brewery? Sounds excellent if White Rabbit is on tap!

      Like

      • McLean not maclean says:

        Yep it is run by little creatures. Food is great, beer menu ( yes, “menu”) is excellent ( features several beers that have been reviewed on this very blog) and it’s in a converted warehouse so the venue is cool too. Well worth a visit. It’s in Brunswick

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Brilliant. Definitely intend to visit…perhaps it could coincide with my 100th beer review…!? Hmm!

        Attention Little Creatures Pub/Brewery – please help make my dream a reality.

        Like

  3. Fran says:

    I’ve put orange slice and even squeezed a bit of juice right in before. Its kind of has some social restraints though. I’ll use the slice if Im with the wife (she loves it) but if Im with the bros I go straight-up so I dont look like a pansy.

    Like you said even though it isnt self described as a Hef I dont know that it isnt one.

    Since moving to NZ thought I dont drink it…its soooooo expensive here.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Yeah sorry Fran I’m not a fan of adding fruit or juice to any beer. Even lemon in Corona I’m a bit iffy on.

      My biggest pet hate in the world is when you order a beer and the bar person will just add a bit of lemon or lime without even asking! I’ve had this done a couple of times when ordering an Aussie Redback wheat beer. If it ever happens again I’ll refuse to pay as it is totally not needed.

      Like

      • Fran says:

        Tisk Tisk you Aussies and Kiwis alike are always putting lemons in Corona when its supposed to be a lime!

        Yeah I think you might be a bit too bloke for fruit in your beer Mase.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Nah it’s not that I think I’m too much of a bloke, I just don’t think anything should be added to beer. I’m quite happy to openly drink cocktails but if I want beer I’ll drink beer. Not beer cocktails.

        Like

      • H.A.Chamberlain Esq. says:

        No good beer needs additives. Just sayin’. 🙂

        I’m no fan of Hoegaarden either mate. I’ll go as far to say I couldn’t even finish the bottle I had.

        Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Ooh, check this out. I conclude that Hoegaarden is not a Hef on the basis it’s not German. It is however an unfiltered wheat beer, albeit one from Belgium. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheat_beer

      Like

    • Fran says:

      Well, I do love this beer with or without fruit. Plus I like my sushi with or without soy and wasabi.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Yeah that’s cool Fran – I definitely don’t think differently of people that prefer their beer with fruit added. It all comes down to taste and personal preference and I think that’s been one of the good things about this site. Not everyone will agree with my reviews and the good thing is that a healthy discussion often ensues.

        Like

  4. Fran says:

    What is your thought on an Orange Slice even though its not a Hef?

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Great comment Fran. I’m not sure it’s not a Hef, even though it’s not described as such. I emphasise I am no expert on wheat beers. Like many examples of the style, this one tastes somehow soapy to my palette, thus I just don’t get into it.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Always good to have your input BD regardless of expert-ness – same goes for all contributors. I am a self proclaimed non-expert beer reviewer who has learnt tonnes simply from the discussions we have on here.

        I can understand how Hoegaarden isn’t for everyone. It’s a very unique taste.

        Like

Leave a Reply

