99. Grimbergen Dubbel

Posted: April 27, 2011 in International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , , , ,

Grimbergen Dubbel


Company info:
N.V. Br. Alken-Maes
Warloos, BELGIUM

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 6.5%
Standard drinks: 1.8

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $4.99AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I quite like the look of this label. If my Greek mythology serves me well, the image on the front of the label is a fierce phoenix (firey bird creature) rising up to the heavens. Oh look, my undergraduate knowledge is confirmed by a little label directly above it – ‘Phoenix’. Across the middle of the label is a banner reading ‘Grimbergen’. The colours are predominantly oranges and yellows and it has a definite sense of warmth to it. The images and colours are all subtle hints to the warmth this beer will bring. I don’t mind it at all.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A very faint, roasted coffee flavour with distinguishable coffee undertones.

Taste: GLASS – Noticeably carbonated, Grimbergen Dubbel is quite mild in flavour. Burnt, roasted nuttiness sweeps through with every mouthful but it’s surprisingly not overly bitter. Look, it’s nothing mind blowing and I suggest having a taste of this if you have a few dollars to kill and a lazy afternoon. It’s a tad thirst quenching which is nice, and it has all the hall marks of a well crafted fine brew. But over all it’s not likely to make me run back for more in a hurry.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
I half expected this would be the case, but I found drinking this from the bottle meant the experience was dulled noticeably. It becomes lifeless, dull and a tad watery. Let the phoenix fly and drink this from the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along side The Preset’s ‘If I know you

Accompanying food: I think Grimbergen Dubbel would sit nicely beside a hearty osso bucco or perhaps an Irish stew. Give it a go.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? Not for me. It’s actually quite bloaty given the strong carbonation in this, and I’m one that will rarely get bloated from beer.

NEXT WEEK: Holy shamolies! Next week is my 100th beer….yeesh! So much pressure, so little time! I can assure you, dear reader, that my 100th is a real delight. A beer I already know I love and one that I’ve purposefully held off reviewing until I reached this milestone. 

Comments
  1. McLean not MacLean says:

    Looking forward the 100th blog next week Hellcat. Any chance of a guest appearance from the wife? It’s a special occasion after all (plus her 8 words usually made a lot more sense than your 200 words). I’m also intrigued to see what your song of choice will be. Oh the anticipation!

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Your wish is my command, McLean. I brought the good wife out of retirement for a review that will raise even your war-weary brow.

      Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Well I’m naturally inclined towards this brew on the basis that the Latvian name “Grinbergs” is prominent in my family tree – it’s not the same as this beer’s name, but I suspect I’m distantly related to this mob. I have enjoyed this brew and like every other European ‘dubbel’ I have sampled it’s fairly classy, and definitely a bit bloaty.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Ahh we get yet another sliver of information on the infamous BD. Week by week readers have been piecing together your origins like some newsagent magazine selling a piece of dinosaur skeleton, one per week. $2.95 for the first issue ($17.50 for other issues).

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        I severely doubt that my skeleton is worth anything like that. My liver, on the other hand, is probably a marvel of medical science.

        Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I wish I was related to a beer, or a stock market index, instead of a cooking banana. Still, mustn’t blub. Nine out of ten.

      Like

Leave a Reply

