Pilsner Urquell


Company info:
Plzensky Prazdroj
Plzen, CZECH REPUBLIC

[www.pilsnerurquell.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.4%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for TBC
Case price: I picked up a case of this for $39.00AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: While scanning the bottle for info about the beer I noticed the best before date as being 25/04/2011. I only bought this case about a week and a half ago, so on or around the 14th of May 2011. I’m not one to worry too much about use by dates when it comes to beer but this is very disconcerting! I realise now why the bottle shop I went to was selling it for so much cheaper than usual – still, it would have been nice to have been warned.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label is simple, it’s elegant, it’s classy. The prominent feature here is the graphic of a red wax seal that really draws the eye to the label and then up over the ‘Pilsner Urquell’ text. It’s uncomplicated and easily recognisable across the world but for me it falls into the boring category of labels. If it weren’t for the red wax seal this label would be scoring no points at all.

I give it a label rating of 5 out of 10.

AROMA: Very strong hoppy aroma with hints of citrus fruits.

Taste: GLASS – A pervasive bitterness persists through this very dry brew. It’s hoppy and distinctly pilsner in flavour. It’s drinkable but it’s not mind-blowing and it’s perhaps a little too over the top in dryness. What makes reviews of pilsner’s difficult for me now is that I’m always comparing them to the amazing ‘Hop Rocker’ and Pilsner Urquell falls short of this benchmark by a country mile.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
Drinking this from the bottle I note that the brew loses a little of its complexity. It becomes stronger in bitterness, while retaining that over-riding dryness. I suggest you stick to the glass with this one.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this along The Everly Brother’s ‘So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)

Accompanying food: Pork. Roast pork, pork ribs, pork stir fry, pork, pork, pork.

Best season to appreciate: More of a warm weather brew.

All-nighter beer? Not for me…it’s way too dry. I’ve tried on several occasions to have an all-nighter on this and found I can’t get past three bottles.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    I eyeball this brew every time I’m at my local Murphettorium beer shelf, but I’ve never been able to bring myself to buy it. Its surname sounds too much like my dog having a huck for my drinking pleasure.

    Like

  2. McLean not MacLean says:

    Slightly disagree with Barge Dave here. I think Urquell is a poor relative of Hop Rocker (which, for my money, packs a weightier – and tastier – punch). I’d also choose Squires’ Pils over the Urquell too.

    Hell-Cat, re your comments on the red wax seal motif. I wonder if that harks back to a bygone age when the brewers did actually apply a wax seal to their bottles. I have a feeling it might. I rather like the idea of drinking a beer that has been given its own individual wax seal, don’t you? There’s something regal about that I think.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Sigh. Gents, you’ve FORCED me into the position where I feel I must sample the Urquell, the Hop Rocker and the Squires side-by-side in order to reassess this question. Aah, the things I do and sacrifices I make for this blog. Tirelessly and relentlessly knocking back beer after beer.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Well I’m eating humble pie – when compared side by side the Squires has a much stronger and fuller flavour than the Urquell. Good work McLean.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Ahh but did you do the Hop Rocker comparison BD?
        Back to the drawing board you go!

        Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Dry and hoppy and well-brewed – ticks all of my boxes. I don’t find this vastly different to the Hop Rocker or Squires Pilsner, perhaps just a tad drier. If Mase can’t get past three bottles, I’ll happily knock off the rest of his six-pack for him. Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

