Organic Ale

Company info:
Barossa Valley Brewing
Barossa Valley, S.A. 

[www.bvbeer.com.au]

Alcohol: 5.2%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: TBC

Label info: ‘Barossa Valley Brewing Excellence, Naturally
We are an independent award-winning producer of the finest, all natural beer. This ale is brewed with certified organic malt and hops. We involved the best chefs and vintners to create a big, hop driven ale. Enjoy on it’s [sic] own or with rich, full flavoured meat dishes with ample spice. Please pour this into a glass to fully enjoy’.

What the label really means:
Intriguing!

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: This is my second reviewed beer from Barossa Valley Brewing and the label is kind of similar but different for all the right reasons. At first glance on this bottle, there looks to be a bee (or possibly a moth!) in between the cursive script of ‘Organic’ and ‘Ale’ – very similar to the bee on the reviewed brew ‘Bee Sting‘. But look closely and you’ll see some carefully arranged hops and wheat. It’s very well done for such a small component and really draws the eye in. The label has a kind of rustic, old feel to it and is very effective.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA:  There’s a hoppy, citrus-infused aroma buzzing with an ever so soft hint of musk. It’s definitely pleasant to sniff.

Taste: GLASS – It’s hoppy, it’s fresh, and it’s very dry. It’s easy to drink but the more of this I drink the drier it is becoming. It’s actually getting so dry it’s becoming a little unpleasant. It’s making for a fun tasting but I cannot see myself rushing out to buy this any time soon. If you are a dry fan, which I’m not particularly, this will appeal to you. If you are after something lip smackingly refreshing, this isn’t for you.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink the Organic Ale from the bottle and you’ll find it’s actually a little easier to drink. It seems to lose that back of mouth dryness and the musk flavour hinted at in the aroma suddenly begins to emerge in a most triumphant fashion. This is actually quite enjoyable and I am almost forgetting how dry it was from the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Rage Against the Machine’s ‘Sleep Now in the Fire

Accompanying food: Poultry! Roast chicken, roast turkey this sucker would sit very well with feathered friends. Other meats would be too heavy to accompany this and I certainly do not recommend anything too spiced.

Best season to appreciate: More of a Summer-time brew.

All-nighter beer? At first, drinking this from the glass I would have said this is not an all-nighter beer as it was way too dry. But from the bottle it’s going back very well and I could actually see myself drinking this for most of the night.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Tasty stuff, nice hoppy flavours and well brewed. Not quite as way out there as the Bee Sting, but certainly not boring. I suspect the label intends to portray barley and not wheat, but I otherwise agree with the review.

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    This is pure amazing. I am pure amazed. Last night my least preferred chum, Poompfare, lobbed unannounced with a box of Organic Ale. I’d been munching arrowroot, as I do every Queen’s Birthday, it’s how I celebrate our Monarch’s entry into the world. Consequently, I have no idea what this stuff tastes like, because my mouth was numb, but I know it works. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      I for one don’t want to know what Sniv does with his numb mouth on the Queen’s birthday when he’s not drinking Organic Ale with Poompfare.

      Like

Leave a Reply

