Hawthorn Premium Pale Ale

Company info:
Hawthorn Brewing Company Pty Ltd
Hawthorn, V.I.C 

[hawthornbrewing.com.au]

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: TBC

Label info: ‘In the tradition of the travelling merchants of old, the Flavour Merchants criss-cross the globe to bring home the secrets of the world’s best brewers. It is only by trialling and refining these techniques that we are able to create beers of such distinction. Like this Premium Pale Ale, combining fruit and spic-flavours from the New World with traditional brewing methods. A world class beer, imported from Hawthorn’

and

‘A unique pale ale boasting a harmonious blend of specialty malts, infused with fresh fruity hops’

What the label really means:
I love the harking back to days of yore tradition that this description exudes. I love the fact that they are drawing on the work done of beer pioneers, reading, sampling, reviewing their produce and then report to be bringing this knowledge to us in the form of an ideal brew. Very well crafted description that has me intrigued, excited, and almost teary. Thank you bygone flavour merchants, thank you.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Excellent stuff, this label becomes instantly legend-ridden simply by its design. It’s traditional, it’s strong, it’s bold, it’s inspiring. It’s a label that is accurately supported in the label description as a beer of character and class and I’d be proud to hold a bottle of this in my hand. It has a washed out, old magazine/bulletin style feel to it and it just works. Nicely done, people!

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  I found this difficult to detect at first. I had to let it sit for a while after opening and pouring. Then I got a good, strong, hoppy aroma.

Taste: GLASS – The Hawthorn Premium Pale Ale is almost amber ale-like in it’s heaviness. It looks much lighter than your standard amber ale but it has all the feel of an amber ale. It’s distinguished from an amber ale with a delicious all-mouth smoothness and strong sense of refreshment. There is an over-arching bitterness that lingers in the mouth more than any other pale ale I’ve tasted. This is one enjoyable beer.

 

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this from the bottle the brew becomes a touch sweeter, and the edgy bitterness is diminished. This is a good thing as other elements rise up to carry this beer along my tasting journey. I begin to notice a sweet caramel flavour and it begins to remind me of Samuel Adams’ Boston Lager. Delicious.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside The Strokes’ ‘Under Cover of Darkness

Accompanying food: I believe this would suit hearty tomato-based dishes such as a good spaghetti bolognese or ossobuco.

Best season to appreciate: Slightly more of a cooler weather beer due to its darker more robust tones and flavours. 

All-nighter beer? Without being too heavy, this is the perfect all-nighter brew! Definitely keen for this!

NEXT WEEK: Murray’s Whale Ale

Comments
  1. […] a lavish dose of Australian hops’ What the label really means: This is what I said when I last reviewed a Hawthorn Brewing Co. beer and my response still stands: ‘I love the harking back to days of […]

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    Hawthorn Brewing’s only a ten minute drive from me – twenty-five if I haven’t been drinking – yet not only don’t my local Murphettorium stock their stuff, they don’t stock any beers starting with ‘H’. It’s alphabet bigotry in this Radio’s opinion. Still, mustn’t blub. They do have Muzza’s Whale Ale though, which I’m sniffling as I write this. What a beezer. I look forward to Hellakazoo’s blog tomorrow. They also sell Sol in 940ml bottles, so I shall review that instead. Yer, it tastes like nothing. It would go well with a power blackout, a wedge of vegan cheese, and a pair of argyle underpants. Nine out of ten.

    Like

  3. bladdamasta says:

    Yep – that is a nice beer. You’ve also got something to look forward to.

    Like

  4. Fran says:

    I was sold at the label which I believe is the ‘you had me at hello’ of beer.
    looks awesome so Ill have to track this one down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

