108. Monteith’s Single Source Lager Beer

Posted: July 6, 2011 in International beer, Lager
Tags: , , , , , ,

Monteith’s Single Source Lager Beer

Company info:
Monteith’s Brewing Company
Timaru, NEW ZEALAND

[www.singlesource.co.nz]

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99AU

Label info: ‘Aromatic Southern Cross hops from Ian Thorn in Motueka, charmay barley from Bill Davey in Rakaia… With Single Source we can tell you exactly where every ingredient came  from, right down to the paddock. It’s what makes this crisp, refreshing lager such a true reflection of our unique climate, land and craft’

What the label really means: This is excellent. In an age of mass-production it’s nice to think that Monteith’s have this much input and diligence into the source of their ingredients. Sure it may just be a marketing ploy but it’s damn convincing, backed up by signatures of the brewer, and the hop and barley farmers, as well as longitude and latitude coordinates for their plots. Awesome. This immediately makes me as a consumer feel as though I’m supporting farmers as well as having confidence that there are real ingredients in this bottle. Very well done.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: It’s a very uncomplicated label that has a single hand-drawn line down the middle, with the beer’s name printed across the bottle. I like it because it instantly yells of class, is uncomplicated, and just works.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  A hoppy, citrus infused scent that is nice but seems a little too familiar. Haven’t we been down this scenty path before? Isn’t this a bit generic?

Taste: GLASS – Surprisingly delicious and not the generic flavour I expected from the whiff I took moments earlier. I expected it to be watery and un-flavoursome, like many lagers out there, and was pleasantly surprised. It’s refreshing, it’s crisp, it’s slightly citrus infused, and cops a big ol whack of wheat. It’s very flavoursome, and very enjoyable.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – There’s a bit more of a nutty, earthy taste when drinking this from the bottle, and that makes for a delicious touch. It has pushed the tasting to just slightly above glass

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Augie March’s ‘There is No Such Place

Accompanying food: Chicken. A nice creamy chicken pasta dish would suit this drop well.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely one for drinking while soaking in those beaut Summer rays. Which is unfortunate for me this evening as it is freezing here and thoughts of warm air are making my teeth chatter. 

All-nighter beer? Definitely! Monteith’s Single Source Lager Beer is so easy to drink and so enjoyable that I could easily see myself drinking this all-night.

NEXT WEEK: Atomic Pale Ale

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    Tried one over the weekend and it’s instantly my favourite lager, overtaking James Squires Sundown Lager. The ‘single source’ method delivers very precise flavour notes rather than complex interactions. It’s sort of like a single malt vs blended whisky. Great stuff.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Further to previous, also meant to add that if this was a pilsner or ale it would be boring as but as lager goes it’s on-mission. Also, am looking forward to this week’s Atomic Ale review. Definitely worth a sample all you ale fans.

      Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I agree. Having fallen off the Dry July wagon, I’m now on the Monteith’s SS bandwagon. Supoib drop. Most guzzable…

      Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    Excellent review, Hellakazoo. One of your finest. It was a pleasure to read.

    I’ve heard plenty good things about Monteith’s SS, but circumstances keep preventing me from getting on the outside of some, the latest being my participation in Dry July. Next month, however, or Oargust as I’m calling it, I intend to get addlefaced every evening and shout ‘that’s no how you make porridge’ at night rowers on the Yarra. I shall commence my af’ing with a box of this stuff. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Appears that the merest mention of ‘Dry July’ is enough to warrant plenty of ‘thumbs down’ ratings on this blog. Good work people!

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        haha – that is hilarious! I gave you a thumbs up, Snivs.

        Just for the record, Hell-Cat’s Beer Blog does not in any way endorse or support ‘Dry July’. Sure it’s a worthy cause and all but come on folks, there are better ways to raise money.

        Like

  3. McLean not MacLean says:

    I’m tracking this sucker down. It sounds awesome. Thanks Mase. Also looking forward to reading your thoughts on the wonderfully named Atomic Ale.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Thanks McLean!
      Even I am hanging to sample Atomic Ale…I have a couple of good ones to review in the coming weeks and this one looks like it’ll be a beauty…

      Like

Leave a Reply

