Bolt

Company info:
Under licence from Australian Leisure and Hospitality Group Limited trading as the Sail & Anchor Brewing Co. [Ed: huh?]
Fremantle, W.A.

[No website listed on bottle]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol:
 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $2.79 AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Ok I get the fact that the label, with all its fancy angles is meant to be a bolt. Fine. So we’re appealing to the home handy-person, the trades-person, and the hardware owner. All well and good. What I don’t get is the ‘Sail & Anchor’ connection. How is any other part of this label remotely nautical themed? I’m confused and I haven’t even opened this sucker up. For me, the word ‘Bolt’ doesn’t stand out enough across a sea of metal grey/silver and the label blends into nothingness. It screams of a mass-production line and I was quite surprised this wasn’t a Toohey’s production. Or is it? Who knows who makes up the Australian Leisure and Hospitality Group Limited.

I give it a label rating of 3 out of 10.

AROMA:  An attractive earthy, hoppy aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Probably the nicest thing I can say about this lack-luster brew is that it’s kind of smooth and inoffensive. I’m sorry, but there is little else to praise. Bolt lacks any strong flavours and is literally just a very small step up from mineral water. Sure it’s easy to throw back and I can see this would appeal to teens and Extra Dry fans, but for my money it’s not one worth rushing out for.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 5.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Look, this is a drinkable beer. After many of these you’ll be singing its praises as the best beer you’ve tasted. It would become so tediously inoffensive you’d question what you ever had a problem with. If you like weaker tasting beers like Corona, this is ideal. In fact it has a real Corona, Mexican-style taste to it. For me, it’s not ringing my bell bottoms.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Deer Tick’s ‘Art Isn’t Real (City of Sin)

Accompanying food: Something strong in flavour….tasty….spicy. I think this could be a well-suited Asian dish beer.

Best season to appreciate: A good Summer thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? Yes, I could drink it most of the night because I wouldn’t notice I was drinking anything stronger than ginger ale. Maybe the lack of flavour would wear me down after three or four. I don’t know, and I don’t intend to find out.

NEXT WEEK: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale

Comments
  1. There is a reason you think this tastes mainstream, If you look up the company name here’s what you fine:

    Aust Leisure & Hospitality Group Limited (75% owned by Woolworths)

    This is the beer equvalient to Home Brand peas.

    And the reason it doesn’t stand out in the sea of mainstream beers, it’s designed to ‘steal’ their brand. It’s designed so the mindless mainstream beer drinker think It’s look like a Extra Dry so it must taste like it – Which it probably does

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I love boardroom beer guff. I love it. With few exceptions it’s more interesting than the beers themselves. Oh, to be a fly on the ear of the Reschs Real Bitter CEO. Although, I probably wouldn’t hear anything over the sound of the sea emanating from it.

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Good point Leon. As someone working in an associated industry with the ALH group I should have spotted that myself! I’ve not even gone to the trouble of trying this beer but for ever more I will think of Home Brand frozen peas when I see it around.

      Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Brilliant work Leon. Research is something this blog relies far too heavily on readers for!

      Like BD, I too will always think of Home Brand peas when I see this beer now.

      Like

  2. Rock Studley says:

    “just a very small step up from mineral water” Love this review mate. Very amusing. I’ll be side-stepping the actual beer mind you.

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Haven’t tried one yet and may not bother but it’s a shame that a bland beer has come out of Fremantle, which does so well for craft beers. I may get to DM’s and decide to invest in a Little Creatures instead to restore my faith in Fremantle brews.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      It’s not a Freo thing, Bargé, It’s a low-carb thing. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but for the last two months I’ve been wibbling my way through the Murphett range of carb challenged beers – Platinum Blonde, Carlton Dry Fusion Black, Coopers Clear, et al. I don’t know why, probably because I’m Radio Snivins. Without exception, they’ve all left me indifferent. Foozled, but indifferent. I didn’t love ‘em. I didn’t hate ’em. I’ve been in a whiffling no-man’s-land. Alas, my dalliance with these listless swiggables ends this arvo after I guzz a sixer of Cascade Pure whilst burning tyres in the backyard. Apparently, it has a passionfruit aroma. My tastebuds are crossed that that’s not the only passion it elicits.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        I’ve tried them all Sniv and none of them are vaguely satisfying as beers. I think a good beer needs depth of flavour in both the hops and malts, and decent malt means big carbs. Sigh. Destined never to lose the beer gut.

        Like

  4. Radio Snivins says:

    Bolt and I have crossed paths before. According to my whiffling diary it was the morning of June 1, 2010. The entry reads: I’ve met some ho-hum hootch in my puff, but this stuff taketh the gherkin. It’s the plonk equiv of brown tracky daks. Still, it is foozle, and where foozle goeth foozled followeth. Nine out of ten.

    I’m reacquainting myself with it as I write this. I see no reason to amend my original thoughts…hic

    Like

Leave a Reply

