Duke Premium Lager

Company info:
Burleigh Brewing Company
Burleigh Heads, Q.L.D

[www.burleighbrewing.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.8%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: $TBC

Label info: ‘Ever loved a place so much you wish you could bottle it? That’s how we feel about Burleigh Heads. And it’s the reason we created Duke beer. Why Duke? Find out at dukebeer.com.au’

What the label really means: I do admire the guy’s from Burleigh Brewing and their love for Burleigh Heads. They seem to prattle on about the damn place on every label – and it works.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’ve said time and time again that I cannot stand the colour blue on a beer label. When I say that, I am particularly referring to this shade of blue. It’s a blue that is put to use on so many different beers (eg. Quilmes) and to detrimental effect, as opposed to the sweetly subtle and nostalgic blue of Burleigh’s ’28 Pale Ale’. It just doesn’t work. What’s also wrong with this label for me is look behind Duke and you can make out a faint star image. It conjures up images of bogans with Southern Cross tattoos. Sorry guys, you’ve lost me with this one.

I give it a label rating of 4.5 out of 10.

AROMA: A heavy citrus, earthy aroma. Unfortunately it’s already making me think of those same old, generic lagers that every brewery seems to trot out.

Taste: GLASS – Following the sniff, I totally expected this would taste just like many other generic lagers on the market. But, thankfully, and surprisingly, this one has a bit more heart, a bit more depth. It has earthy pilsner hints that swirl through an undercurrent of enjoyable citrusness. It’s finely carbonated making the brew quite smooth. It rolls off the tongue with the sweetest of ease. It won’t win any awards for complexity of flavour but it is enjoyable none the less.

I give it a beer from glass rating of out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Sample this baby from the bottle and it becomes a tad bland, lacks the all-mouth feel and becomes a little carbonation heavy and boring. Stick to the glass I say!

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside The Lyrical Madmen’s track ‘Hungover‘

Accompanying food: Spicy Asian dishes may just make this beer come out of its shell.

Best season to appreciate: More of a Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? Look, the brew is so easy to drink I have to say yes it is an all-nighter, session beer. Perhaps my only issue would be that it’s a little dry and sticking to this all night may in fact be a challenge.

NEXT WEEK: One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale 

Comments
  1. Luke says:

    Hey, the blue on this label makes your eyes pop, playboy.
    Just saying…

    Like

  2. Luke says:

    Quilmes is the home of a fiercely proud soccer team (known as much for hooliganism as their play), so the blue they use is related to the team. Any other colour and the factory would be burned to the ground.

    Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    Another comprehensive review, ‘Kazoo. I particularly liked the bit about earthy pilsner hints that swirl through an undercurrent of enjoyable citrusness. Tell me, were you were wearing a cravat when you wrote that? Hmm? I wish I had a cravat. I wish I had a Duke Premium. Like cane toads, the stuff isn’t available further south than Coffs Harbor. Still, mustn’t blub. Hi, Bargé.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      I’m not sure I’ve seen Duke around but I’ve seen other Burleigh beers – their brilliantly named “My Wife’s Bitter” and their wacky coffee lager with the giraffe on the label are both worth the effort.

      Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Yes the cravat was well and truly doffed during this one, Snivelly.
      Also, I picked this brew up in Brisbane when I was up there a few months back. Didn’t realise they don’t ship it too far till now.

      BD – Stay tuned for a review of that other drop you mention, very soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

